Posted in encouragement, weather, winter

Winter (and Life) pack a punch

blogwinter time 033It looks like Ol’ Man Winter threw a sucker punch to most of our nation.

Some areas of the country ducked and dodged previous storm systems that blew through, coming out of it with a few scrapes of the snow shovel or pouring a little salt on the ice wounds.  Other areas kept getting smacked with a strong left hook.

But the recent blast of wintry weather caught many unaware; that sucker punch knocked some regions down for the count.

Last night I read my friend Homesteadrambling’s blog and viewed a couple of her pictures of the latest snow storm in her neck of the woods.

My family and I used to live in that section of the country and we experienced eight winters there.  But not once in all those years, do I recall scenes like I viewed online.

Hubby and I watched a slide show of storm photos from the Midwest.  One major highway that we traveled along often was completely shut down in a whiteout blizzard condition.  I read about a young lady forced to spend the night on a stranded bus in Chicago because she couldn’t see more than 100 feet when she attempted to walk home.

Some of my family and friends live in a southwestern state.  They too were caught by winter’s sucker punch as evidenced by their pictures on Facebook.

Again my family once lived there also and we remember how a dusting of snow sent those “sooners” into a frenzy.  In the land where the wind comes sweeping down the plain, evidently the wind swept several inches of snow and ice into their yards.

All of this reminds me of a woman I once worked with years ago when I was a young reporter/assistant section editor at a daily newspaper.  Mrs. Carter was our newsroom librarian.

Long before the internet surfaced, she was our capable and efficient go-to gal for information.  She was an older lady, sweet-natured with a well-worn face and hands.  I suspect that in her youth, she worked long and hard hours on the farm out in the sun-scorched weather.

Her duties were to catalog….everything!  If we needed a picture that our photographers could not easily attain, we asked Mrs. C. to find us one.  And voilà!  She dug through her carefully alphabetized files and found the picture you needed.

Need some background info or a copy of a photo one of our photographers took five years ago?  See Mrs. C.  Need to know who wrote an article about such and such on this date or that?  Our steadfast librarian had gigantic volumes of the actual newspaper pages bound and shelved for your perusal, as well as countless volumes on “microfiche.”

Mrs. C. was an information treasure trove hidden in a backroom office away from the hustle and bustle of the newsroom.  This gem of a lady also possessed the best attitude no matter what.  To this day over 30 years later, one of her oft-spoken phrases has stuck with me.  “My, we are having a time!” she would utter.

She didn’t qualify whether it was a good time or a bad time, a glorious time or a devil of a time.  A gut-wrenching time or a giddy time, a pleasing time or an irritating time.  To Mrs. C., it was always just “a time.”

Today on this third page of Chapter Two in my book, Opportunity,  I glance out at the snow knowing  friends, family and fellow countrymen are digging themselves out of winter’s throes, attempting to land on their feet again, and I sympathize.

Although we were spared the worst from this storm’s sucker punch here in Mama’s Empty Nest, our family has taken a few unexpected hits on the chin this winter in other areas of life.

But for all of us, I just have one thing to say, “My, we are having a time!”

©2011 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

Author:

Mama of this empty nest, I’m content to live a quiet, country life with my husband of 40+ years and to view gorgeous sunsets off our own back yard deck. Mama to three adults and Nana to adorable grandchildren, my empty nest fills up again with noise and laughter when they all return 'home'. A former English teacher, reporter/editor, education director for a non-profit organization, and stay at home mom, I retired after a season of substitute teaching at a private academy. Now I enjoy time spent with my grandchildren and family and writing words that seem to pour out of my soul or wandering around the countryside with my camera. Foremost, my faith sustains me as I meander through the empty nest stage of life. My favorite scripture is 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18: “Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

4 thoughts on “Winter (and Life) pack a punch

    1. Seems to me you were also having a “time” not so long ago. I trust you’ve managed to get out of the deep freeze! 😉 Thanks for the compliments on my new format. It’s a work in progress. Kudos to you too — I like the back porch idea!! Would love to just come sit on a rocking chair there with you, especially if your header picture was the view!

      Like

  1. What a storm it has been! We’re not in its path — far from it — but have lots of family that is.

    The title of your blog intrigues me…that’s me this year!

    Like

    1. Hello Laura! Glad you visited my blog. I’m surmising from your comment that you are an empty nest Mom or soon will be. It’s a journey! Hope you come back to visit me soon. Thanks for your comment! 🙂

      Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.