Posted in Life, photography

Words for Wednesday: some bike ride!

Author:

Mama of this empty nest, I’m content to live a quiet, country life with my husband of 40+ years and to view gorgeous sunsets off our own back yard deck. Mama to three adults and Nana to adorable grandchildren, my empty nest fills up again with noise and laughter when they all return 'home'. A former English teacher, reporter/editor, education director for a non-profit organization, and stay at home mom, I retired after a season of substitute teaching at a private academy. Now I enjoy time spent with my grandchildren and family and writing words that seem to pour out of my soul or wandering around the countryside with my camera. Foremost, my faith sustains me as I meander through the empty nest stage of life. My favorite scripture is 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18: “Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

8 thoughts on “Words for Wednesday: some bike ride!

  1. Wow! Your son-in-law’s trip was amazing! Those photos were great too. I am always amazed by people who do things like this because sometimes I barely have energy to get through my day! Thank you for sharing that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Have you ever read Donald Kahl? He was a must-read for Iowans: a Pulitzer prize winner and the founder of RAGBRAI. His column was the first thing I turned to in the Des Moines Register, and I kept reading him even after moving away. When I lived in Liberia, my mom would clip columns and send me a packet every now and then. He died in 2018. This article has some more information about him and RAGBRAI. It was quite an occasion. Even people like me, who didn’t ride, always took part in one way or another.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cannot believe they did this, but what an accomplishment it was! Thankful they have a common bond and can be together on a regular basis. So proud of both of them. Thanks for honoring their success in your blog.

    Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.