Posted in Christmas, family

With apologies to Clement Clarke Moore

blogDSCN7265‘Twas the night before Monday and all through the house,

Not a creature was stirring, not even a mouse (the cat keeps them away!).

The children were off in their own homes near and far,

And hubby had just made room in the garage for his car (because it was snowing!).

I was wrapped in my warm blanket in my usual place,

And had just settled down to watch “The Amazing Race.”

When all of a sudden there arose such a clatter,

I jumped from the couch to see what was the matter.

Away to my cell phone I scurried to see

Why that darn thing was singing to me.

When what to my wondering eyes should appear

But a picture message from middle daughter bringing me cheer.

Her roommate and she had been working all day

To decorate a real Christmas tree, what a display!

The tree was so pretty dressed in all of its splendor

And excitement over it made her as dizzy as a blender.

As I settled back down to finish my show

Another cell phone signal started to glow.

I threw off the covers and leaped to my feet

Wondering what other picture message could I possibly meet?

It was oldest daughter’s turn to make me aware

That she and her roommate had a real tree with flair.

Its lights, how they twinkled, its ornaments so sweet,

Its beauty was obviously quite a yuletide treat.

Then back to the couch and TV I flew,

When son decided to send me a picture message too!

On opening this message my eyes did behold

Another bright Christmas tree’s beauties unfold.

It was glittery and shiny, full of garland and light

With a cardboard star on top, oh what a pretty sight!

The messages ended, it became abundantly clear

That my children have more Christmas spirit than I do, I fear.

I went to my living room and what did I see?

No decorations, just lights, sitting lonely on my tree.

But I told myself not to worry, to not be in sorrow

No decorating tonight, well….maybe tomorrow.

©2010 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

Author:

Mama of this empty nest, I’m content to live a quiet, country life with my husband of 40+ years and to view gorgeous sunsets off our own back yard deck. Mama to three adults and Nana to adorable grandchildren, my empty nest fills up again with noise and laughter when they all return 'home'. A former English teacher, reporter/editor, education director for a non-profit organization, and stay at home mom, I retired after a season of substitute teaching at a private academy. Now I enjoy time spent with my grandchildren and family and writing words that seem to pour out of my soul or wandering around the countryside with my camera. Foremost, my faith sustains me as I meander through the empty nest stage of life. My favorite scripture is 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18: “Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

10 thoughts on “With apologies to Clement Clarke Moore

  1. I’m using part of your poem (giving credit of course) in our church newsletter (if it’s okay). Can’t use the whole thing because it wouldn’t fit. Still the upper part is lovely and with the link they can read the rest by simply clicking on it. If it gets approved by the pastor, I’ll put another comment here to let you know and email you a pdf copy.

    Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.