Mind over Matter

blogDSCN0474My overstimulated brain transports me to convoluted hikes on trails where I don’t necessarily want to trek.

Sometimes I simply think too much for my own good.  Often that’s why I can’t fall asleep easily at bedtime.

My mind just won’t stop!  It races ahead of me, planning this, plotting that, figuring out the other thing and then starts all over again.  Kind of reminds me of the little pet mouse, Sugarplum, my children used to have – running like crazy on her exercise wheel and getting nowhere.

Here’s a prime example of what I mean.  This morning hubby and I were sitting at the kitchen table having breakfast before leaving for church.  There was a lull in the conversation, a prime opportunity for my brain to jump ahead by light-years.  I started thinking about all – and I do mean ALL – the Christmas decorating that I haven’t accomplished yet and here’s the result of the rabbit trail on which my mind veered.

Christmas decorating….maybe I won’t put as many decorations out this year, then I won’t have to spend so much time trying to dress up the house in holiday style…

Which made me think:  For some unknown reason, the wreath we have that’s made completely out of pine cones came to my mind…

Which made me think:  Wow, that wreath is old; I bought it when I was a young Army officer’s wife at a Christmas bazaar back in the day over 30 years ago…

Which made me think:   Since that wreath is so ancient maybe I don’t want to use it as the centerpiece on our dining room table as I usually do…

Which made me think:  I remember when we lived in the Pacific Northwest, the realtor who helped us find a new home delivered  a fresh greens centerpiece with candles to us for a few years and I would use it as our dining room centerpiece…

Which made me think:  What was that realtor’s name?  Can’t remember, but I do remember the realtor who sold us our first house in the Midwest.  Her name was Billie…

Which made me think:  We looked at a lot of houses in that Midwestern city when we were in the market to purchase our first home.  I can still remember the smaller homes she took us to first.  Wow, we could have bought one of those cottage style houses for around $50K…

Which made me think:  But if we had bought one of those houses in that particular suburb, oldest daughter wouldn’t have met our neighbor’s little girl J, who became daughter’s  very first best friend…

Which made me think:  Our house there needed so much updating when we bought it.  Man, the décor was ugly…

Which made me think:  Well, all the work we did helped us sell that house when we built our new one in another suburb a few years later…

Which made me think:  About the prices of new homes back then…

Which made me think:  I remember looking at new construction when hubby was still in the military and you could purchase a brand new three-bedroom home in that town for around $80K…

Which made me think:  Well, we couldn’t afford that back then, it seemed like a ton of money to us…

Which made me think:  Wouldn’t it be nice to purchase a brand new three-bedroom home for that price nowadays?

Which made me say, “Huh.”   Out loud.  Which made hubby turn to me and ask, “Why did you say huh?”

I explained that in just a matter of less than a minute or so my brain had taken me on a circumventive journey and relayed it all to him.  He was amazed that I had thought about all of those things in such a short amount of time.  But that is how my brain works.  It goes into hyper drive and works overtime.  And I do not have ADD or whatever all those attention deficit acronyms are.   I just have an over-active mind.

But my mind isn’t the part of the body that hauls out the holly and decks the halls.  And thinking about that made me think:  Darn, I still don’t know what I’m using as a Christmas centerpiece on the dining room table this year!

©2010 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

4 responses

  1. At least you have your decorations hauled out of storage! Mine are still upstairs begging to be unpacked. :/ Will get them soon, though, not too many, just the ones that “matter.” 🙂 The way I look at it, whatever I drag out and put up….I have to take down, repack, and put away! Wow, I AM pathetic! lol These days just finding two minutes to rub together is a challenge! Anyone relate to this? =D

    Like

  2. No tree here yet, let alone lights on anything! Still trying to decide what day will be open to actually go out and cut one down! LOL! Maybe a tree lot would be in order? nah, gotta cut the tree ourselves…..it’s tradition! 🙂

    Like

    • We used to go cut our tree down too! Tradition definitely. Only our tradition was to do this on the Friday after Thanksgiving. But the last couple of years we’ve had an artificial tree. “How could we?” our kids asked. Because they were never around to help take it down and clean up the mess it left behind! LOL But I must admit, I do miss having a real Christmas tree.

      Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

