Posted in Life, reading

What’s missing

What do you miss the most?

That’s a question I’ve heard often in the last few weeks. As this pandemic paranoia continues to press us down with its overreaching heavy hand, we find ourselves waxing nostalgic over simple aspects of life we once managed to accomplish every day without thinking long and hard about it.

You know…things like hugging your family members, sitting closer than six feet apart to have a conversation with your best friend, climbing out of your car without a mask on to enter a business and noticing someone smiling at you, going to the barber shop/hair salon, sitting in a darkened movie theater catching the latest release, live in-person medical and dental check-ups, and attending worship services in person.

Months and months of restrictions that don’t seem to cease have made us weary and, in many cases, downright depressed. That’s the negative side of all of this. But I strive to don my rose-colored glasses and my Pollyanna attitude every day and attempt to find some positive aspects during this trying period.

I know it’s difficult to accentuate the positive, but I do find myself being grateful for the blessings we have. Papa and I are retired so we don’t have to worry about losing jobs or being exposed to the nasty virus at work.

Our children are all grown so we don’t have to stress over whether to send them to school or not and whether to home-school instead.

Our retirement income has remained steady and our home is mortgage-free so we aren’t agonizing over meeting necessary expenses each month.

Even though some of our family members live far from us, thanks to technology we can see and talk with them and that bolsters our spirits.

Our home is situated in the country on 2.5 acres of land in a fairly rural county so we don’t have to fret over living in heavily populated areas and being exposed to large crowds of people.

Our church broadcasts live worship services online and our pastor provides encouraging sessions on Facebook.

And again, thanks to video conferencing, I was able to lead a women’s Bible study online every week since the end of March.

So yes, I find I can be truly thankful for many aspects of life during this difficult time in our lives.

Still there are facets of life that I also truly do miss; one of those is visiting the public library. Papa and I are readers and we regularly spent time at the library perusing the rows upon rows of books available to borrow and usually come home with a tote bag full.

Prior to the pandemic, it wasn’t unusual for me to check out six or eight books at a time so I always had plenty of good reading material available. But alas, the library closed and remained closed during the lockdown edicts from our state governor.

Of course since Papa has a Kindle and I have an iPad with a Kindle app, we still had ample books available to read that way. But I’m old school. I like the feel of a bound book in my hand, paper pages to turn, and a pretty bookmark to mark my place when I close the book.

But there’s another reason I miss jaunts to the library to check out some books. I miss really good books. Well-written books that give me pause to think and use vocabulary that causes me to turn to my handy-dandy dictionary to make sure I understand what that word means.

And frankly, I find those kind of literary works lacking on kindle apps. Today’s fiction seems crude and too simplistic.  And sometimes it’s so poorly written, I can’t stand to continue reading (that’s when the English teacher in me comes out and I want to mark up the pages with my red pen!).

Unfortunately, for me there seems to be an abundance of not-so-great literature out there.

I remember when our kids were still in high school and were required to complete summer reading lists of classic literature and I would read the books compiled on the lists as well. Now that was some challenging reading, some intelligent writing to stimulate your brain and increase your vocabulary.

The writers of old were true wordsmiths, nothing like the drivel that appears today en masse either by traditional publishing companies or through self-publishing. Years ago there was a movement in education that was against what was called “dumbing down” curriculum. Unfortunately, the literary world seems to have fallen prey to dumbing down.

That’s why I can’t wait to get back to the library to find some better books to read. And I can’t express my thoughts in any better words than these written by Alexandre Dumas in his classic novel, The Count of Monte Cristo: “…never forget that until the day when God shall deign to reveal the future to man, all human wisdom is summed up in these two words, – wait and hope.”

Waiting and hoping is what I’m doing as I anticipate a trip to the library once again.

Wait and hope. Solid, intelligent advice, I’d say. Perfect for this pandemic period. We must wait and hope.

“The worst thing about new books is that they keep us from reading the old ones.” ~ Joseph Joubert

©2020 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

Author:

Mama of this empty nest, I’m content to live a quiet, country life with my husband of 40+ years and to view gorgeous sunsets off our own back yard deck. Mama to three adults and Nana to adorable grandchildren, my empty nest fills up again with noise and laughter when they all return 'home'. A former English teacher, reporter/editor, education director for a non-profit organization, and stay at home mom, I retired after a season of substitute teaching at a private academy. Now I enjoy time spent with my grandchildren and family and writing words that seem to pour out of my soul or wandering around the countryside with my camera. Foremost, my faith sustains me as I meander through the empty nest stage of life. My favorite scripture is 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18: “Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

14 thoughts on “What’s missing

  1. P.s. you can find a lot of good literature on Kindle. You have to hunt and you may have to pay for some of it, but it is there. I prefer fiction that features writing better than what is on Kindle Unlimited, most of the time, which is ironic when one considers I have contributed to some the more poorly written KU offerings with my silly self-published fiction that I mainly wrote for friends and family to read as a distraction from life 😉😂. I’m a book snob who also writes romantic tropes and silly fiction that appeals to the masses. 😉

    Like

    1. Unfortunately, I think good writers like you have also had to write stuff that appeals to the masses. And the masses can’t seem to read a paragraph longer than a couple of sentences and with simple words. It’s a sad state of literature, says the former English major/teacher in me.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think part of it is that my brain is shot — I want to write deep and lyrical things but I’m so seriously depressed with the state of the world that I am looking for the simple and light things so I know others are looking for the same. I really believe I could write something very “literary”, so to speak, but there are so many who do it and much better. Plus, I enjoy the escapism of the not-so-deep literature these days – whether writing or reading. However, I am craving some better writing and would love a couple suggestions from you. Maybe I can “order” it at the local library 😉

        Like

      2. I agree too about the masses not being able to handle much in-depth reading. Their brains are bouncing around in the same way they are bouncing around social media sites. I’ve been there and it’s a struggle to shake loose but once I did, I feel less stressed, less jittery and I enjoy being able to focus on long prose again. I’ve noticed we are in an very impatient world. So many people want a quick story, a quick plot line. “Get to the point!”’is what I see in reviews of long books anymore. They want the Twitter version of life and the Twitter version of books and I hate that. I like long stories that build up chapter after chapter and allow me to get to know a character slowly. It aggravates me to no end to see a reviewer write on books that I like: “why didn’t she just spit it out already and stop meanderings around.” We all like different things and if they didn’t like the meandering then this wasn’t the book for them. It doesn’t mean there was something wrong with the book! Sheesh! Kids today would never survive Dickens or Faulkner because they knew how to use words! Of course Faulkner was a bit too much for me with all his run-ons…. but still — he gave the reader more to chew on than “the vampire bit her neck and she knew she would now be a vampire too…” the end. 🤢

        Liked by 1 person

  2. A couple of months before we moved to our new town I went to the library and walked through it and told the ladies I couldn’t wait until we could walk through it. Then everything shut down and I was heart broken. I had imagined days of sitting in the children’s room with my little girl and looking through the books with my son. This was the library I had visited as a kid. We can call the library and “order” books but it’s not the same. I want to look through them and hold them and read the back of the book before I decided to take it home. I had to pay our water bill the other day and when I pulled out I looked at the library and thought “I should go there and look for a book.”
    What a kick in the gut when I remembered again that I couldn’t. I wonder how long the politicians will drag this crap out after the election is over? A couple weeks before the latest crisis catches their attention like a shiny penny at the bottom
    Of the wishing well? And that vaccine? I guess that will make everyone feel invincible…. until they get hit by a car crossing the street to get it and realized it can’t protect them from everything after all. 😜. Yes.. I am in a “happy” mood today 🙄

    Like

    1. Oh, I get you completely, Lisa! Like you, I want to look a book over, read the story synopsis, etc,, before I check it out. Plus I also need to make sure I haven’t already read it! 😉 We really miss being able to take our grandchild to the wonderful children’s section of our library, She loves it and misses it so much too.

      Like

  3. All so well-said!👏🏻What we previously labeled dumbing-down is now normal. You’re right on regarding the endless woes of the pandemic and yet the importance of finding the positives.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Our libraries were offering curbside pick up during the later months of the shutdown here (you placed holds online; they called/emailed when your books are ready for pick up [during specified hours]; you called when you arrived and the librarian put the books on a table in the foyer, wrapped in paper bags; returns were via dropboxes). The physical libraries reopened last week (restricted hours and numbers of patrons allowed inside at one time; strict rules about sanitizing and mask-wearing, as well as not re-shelving anything you touch; returns are quarantined for 3 days before being re-shelved). I was thankful for the curbside service and visited one of our small branches the other day (I was the only one there) to get some more books. Its a strange experience but I am so thankful they’ve reopened. I love the feel of a solid book in my hands and I’m a voracious reader. Hopefully you’ll be able to use your library again soon.

    Liked by 1 person

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.