Posted in America, patriotism

Proud to be an American

America. A country of 50 united states that was founded 244 years ago when the words written by Thomas Jefferson in a document entitled the Declaration of Independence was signed, sealed, and delivered on July 4, 1776.

The United States of America. The land of liberty.

A land from sea to shining sea represented by a flag waving in the wind that’s displayed even outside my country home. That flag consists of 13 red and white alternating stripes standing for the 13 original colonies at the time of this nation’s birth and 50 white stars – one for each state – on a field of blue.

Those colors used have specific meaning: red for valor and bravery; white for purity and innocence, and blue for vigilance, perseverance, and justice.

America. A perfect nation? No. One without mistakes? Absolutely not. One with no faults? Of course not.

America. A country without trials and tribulations? Not likely. One with turmoil and unrest? Unfortunately, yes. Especially in these current times.

As a nation, we Americans are struggling right now. But we have struggled before. We have endured horrendous times and we still stand. We have weathered what’s thrown at us and we persevere.

And we will continue to do so. Because despite her faults, I love my country. I love what she personifies. I love her history, good and bad. I love the freedoms those who came before me fought so valiantly to procure for future generations.

I pray for my country each and every day. I pray for my country’s leaders. I give thanks to God that I am an American and I ask Him to not only bless my country but to heal its many hurts and anguish.

I’m proud to say I’m an American, so on this Independence Day, this fourth day of July, this day that we set aside to commemorate and remember the birth of this great nation, I will celebrate. And I will celebrate my freedom to do so.

“Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction. We didn’t pass it to our children in the bloodstream. It must be fought for, protected, and handed on for them to do the same.” ~ Ronald Reagan

©2020 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

Author:

Mama of this empty nest, I’m content to live a quiet, country life with my husband of 40+ years and to view gorgeous sunsets off our own back yard deck. Mama to three adults and Nana to adorable grandchildren, my empty nest fills up again with noise and laughter when they all return 'home'. A former English teacher, reporter/editor, education director for a non-profit organization, and stay at home mom, I retired after a season of substitute teaching at a private academy. Now I enjoy time spent with my grandchildren and family and writing words that seem to pour out of my soul or wandering around the countryside with my camera. Foremost, my faith sustains me as I meander through the empty nest stage of life. My favorite scripture is 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18: “Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

4 thoughts on “Proud to be an American

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.