Posted in photography, Weekly Photo Challenge

Magical moments

 

 

blogimg_8863
First snowfall of the season

Back in the day before playlists on cell phones, before iTunes and Pandora, before ipods and MP3 players, even before portable CD players, this Mama and Papa listened to music on the radio and on our home stereo.  

We had quite a collection of LPs (for those of you too young to know what we’re talking about, they were long-playing vinyl record albums). 

That record collection was considerably downsized when we moved from one side of the country (the Pacific Northwest) to the other side of the country (the East coast’s Mid Atlantic region), but we still own several of these old blasts from our past.

In that record collection, we had at least one album by the group ELO – Electic Light Orchestra – an English rock band from the 1970’s. And one of their songs immediately came to my mind when I noticed that this week’s photo challenge is “Magic.”

Oh, oh, oh,
It’s magic you know
Never believe it’s not so

Magic. The word may conjure up visions of stage magicians pulling rabbits out of hats or pulling off a colossal illusion like making the Statue of Liberty disappear.

Or maybe you think of Harry Potter magic or the properties of mythical creatures like fairies, leprechauns, and elves…or even Santa Claus and the Easter Bunny.

Defining magic is simpler than performing it. The word can mean “the power of apparently influencing the course of events by using mysterious or supernatural forces” or something “wonderful or exciting” like this magic moment, which invokes yet another song by The Drifters to come to my mind.

This magic moment while your lips are close to mine
Will last forever, forever ’till the end of time

Magic may mean different things for different people, but when I think of magic, I don’t think of magicians or wizards or fairies.  I think of God’s creation and all of the magic moments He provides to us.

Magic happens right in front of my eyes every day.  Never believe it’s not so.

It’s displayed in that magic moment when the morning sun arises and casts out darkness for light in yet again another day of living.

Magic happens when the sun sets and provides a most stunning, multi-hued picture painted by the supreme Artist.

Magic happens when trees that once wore their clothes of lush green leaves miraculously change into coats of many colors of reds, oranges, rusts, and gold.

Magic happens when the bleakness of winter transforms into the vibrancy of spring as dull, lifeless grass converts into lush, verdant carpets of green and flower buds open into brilliant and aromatic bursts of color.

Magic happens when a blanket of darkness descends on earth and I gaze upwards to view a display of countless stars and an iridescent moon.

And magic happens when the first snowfall of the season arrives like it did last week at my house.

Those are magic moments that will last forever, forever ’till the end of time.

For me, there’s something magical about snowflakes and it makes me rush to the window just to catch a glimpse of them, grab my camera to try to capture some of their magic, and offer up a prayer of thanksgiving to God, the Creator of all, for providing a bit of enchantment each day of life.

Because really, isn’t life the best magic of all?

“Magic is not about having a puzzle to solve. It’s about creating a moment of awe and astonishment. And that can be a beautiful thing.” ~ David Blaine, magician, illusionist & endurance artist

©2016 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

 

 

Author:

Mama of this empty nest, I’m content to live a quiet, country life with my husband of 40+ years and to view gorgeous sunsets off our own back yard deck. Mama to three adults and Nana to adorable grandchildren, my empty nest fills up again with noise and laughter when they all return 'home'. A former English teacher, reporter/editor, education director for a non-profit organization, and stay at home mom, I retired after a season of substitute teaching at a private academy. Now I enjoy time spent with my grandchildren and family and writing words that seem to pour out of my soul or wandering around the countryside with my camera. Foremost, my faith sustains me as I meander through the empty nest stage of life. My favorite scripture is 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18: “Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

13 thoughts on “Magical moments

  1. I really enjoyed this post – particularly the retro music references! I have just started a poetry blog here on WordPress in case you have time to have a look? Today’s post is about music. Have a good day, Sam 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Sam. I’m all about retro music — it plays in my head constantly at the mere mention of a word. 😉 Thanks for stopping by my blog and taking the time to let me know you enjoyed my post. I did visit your blog and liked your music post. Keep writing! And be blessed.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I remember Jay & the Americans version of This Magic Moment. What a voice! You’re so right, we’re surrounded by it all the time, we just need to take the time to look.

    Like

    1. Thank you for reading my post and taking the time to comment, Elise. I appreciate it so much when a new reader lets me know they’ve paid a little visit to Mama’s Empty Nest. I certainly hope you find something else worth reading in my blog. 🙂

      Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.