Posted in family

Orange you glad you’re family?

wordpress-family-award-1Welcome to my orange.

“If the family were a fruit, it would be an orange, a circle of sections, held together but separable – each segment distinct.”  ~Letty Cottin Pogrebin

I always assumed my family was a little fruity, so the quote above gives credence to that. 

If you are a regular reader of Mama’s Empty Nest, you will notice that I write often about family – my circle of orange sections – and how much it means to me. 

I really have two families.  First is my actual family – my husband, adult children and their spouses, and sisters and their respective families.  Then there is my church family which includes folks who have known me my entire life.

I just recently realized that I have another family though.  My WordPress Family.  Oh, they’re spread out all over the country and I’ve only met them through blogging, but they feel like family to me because we have a connection with each other.  We share ideas, encouragement, comments, pictures, and thoughts.  And isn’t that what a family does?

“Cherish your human connections – your relationships with friends and family.” ~ Barbara Bush

One of my blogging family connections is Dor from Virginia Views.  That gal is witty and she makes me laugh – out loud!  She and I have been swapping stories and commonalities for quite some time now and even though we’ve never met in person, I consider her an important segment in my orange writing and reading circle.

Not too long ago, Dor bestowed a blogging award honor on me and my humble little blog.  Maybe it’s just the title that struck a chord with me or maybe it’s the description of the award, but this one seems most special.

It’s called the WordPress Family Award and here’s how Dor depicted it: “The WordPress Family Award is reserved for folks in Cyberspace who are unceasingly kind, sympathetic, encouraging, and open to laughter – and who keep each other going by sharing, commenting, and making personal connections even though they may actually be virtual strangers.”

This world is chock full of strangers and albeit, some of them are very strange.  I find it somehow comforting to find like-minded writers out there who share some kind of bond with me even though we’ve not met.

“The family is a haven in a heartless world.”  ~Attributed to Christopher Lasch

To me, this world is a very heartless place sometimes, which is why I do believe one’s family is a haven.  And that’s why I enjoy my blogging family as well.  They provide a safe harbor for me while I float out there in the wide world of words.

I gratefully accept this award and thank Dor so much for naming me. 

The WordPress Family Award Rules:

  1. Display the award logo on your blog.
  2. Link back to the person who nominated you.  (My blogging buddy Dor is a vital member of my orange  blogging family!  You can visit her at Virginia Views.)
  3. Nominate 10 others you see as having an impact on your WordPress experience and family. (The following 10 bloggers have been like family to me.  Most of them do not participate in these awards, and some of them do not post as often as they used to, but they’ve been my writing family from early on in my blogging world.  They’ve encouraged me through their friendships,  comments and even emails and they’re all very special to me.  But my family is growing and there are so many other blogs I enjoy reading and I’m getting to know some of those writers as well.  So please don’t feel like the black sheep of the family if you are not included in this list! )
  1. Let your 10 WordPress Family members know you have awarded them.

And now, on this best day of the year, I have this sudden hankering for a nice juicy orange and I’m pretty certain I’ll savor each segment. 

©2013 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

Author:

Mama of this empty nest, I’m content to live a quiet, country life with my husband of 40+ years and to view gorgeous sunsets off our own back yard deck. Mama to three adults and Nana to adorable grandchildren, my empty nest fills up again with noise and laughter when they all return 'home'. A former English teacher, reporter/editor, education director for a non-profit organization, and stay at home mom, I retired after a season of substitute teaching at a private academy. Now I enjoy time spent with my grandchildren and family and writing words that seem to pour out of my soul or wandering around the countryside with my camera. Foremost, my faith sustains me as I meander through the empty nest stage of life. My favorite scripture is 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18: “Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

8 thoughts on “Orange you glad you’re family?

  1. Love the thought of our family being like sections of an orange. And the thought that our WordPress fellow bloggers being like family is so true! I am thrilled to be included in that family of yours, Mama! Sometimes I think I can’t keep up with writing my blog, but then I think about all the connections I would lose, and I know I can’t give that up. You all are so important to me!

    Like

  2. I am honored to be considered a part of your WordPress family! Thank you for thinking of me!

    It has been a special surprise and pleasure for me to encounter folks like yourself through the world of the weblog. When I began I had no idea that I too would consider many of the people whom I have met in the virtual world to be friends and indeed part of my extended family. I have met personally three of the bloggers with whom I have communicated over the years and each meeting was a very positive and rewarding encounter. One person in particular has become a good friend and for 4 years now we have spent time hiking together each summer in these western Montana mountains.

    Like

    1. Montucky, it’s an honor to honor you! Your blog inspires me each and every time I view it. Your photographs are spectacular and just make my heart sing to see them. I appreciate being able to call you my friend.

      Thanks for sharing that wonderful story of meeting one of your virtual world friends and becoming such good hiking buddies. That’s awesome!! Like you, when I began blogging, I had no intentions or expectations of actually making friends via this way of communicating, so it has been a surprise and pleasure for me as well.

      Like

  3. I’m looking forward to following up on yours and Dor’s nomination from last month when I get back to my chair that swivels and rocks next week. Thank you for thinking about me. Update: Meanwhile I have met up close and personal, face to face with a couple of members of our wp community while visiting with daughter out here.

    Like

    1. And we’re looking forward to your post too. We miss you here in the blogging world but I hope you’ve been having a truly wonderful time. How neat that you had the opportunity to meet some WP friends!!

      Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.