The heat stole my focus

blogIMG_0049It wasn’t supposed to be like that.

Papa and I recently took a well-deserved vacation, something we haven’t been able to do for a few years. We decided where we wanted to venture, plotted our route on the map, and planned a tentative itinerary for each day.

Prior to leaving, I examined and re-confirmed weather forecasts for the areas we were going to visit. Why? Not because I was fearful it would rain. Instead, I wanted to ascertain that the weather would be mild. Because you see, I’m a fair-weather kind of gal.

I absolutely despise hot, humid temperatures. They make me wilt. They make me melt. They make me exceedingly cranky. That’s why generally, summer is not my favorite season.

So I was truly hopeful that the weather forecast I kept checking was accurate and wouldn’t change. Yep, I was that focused on it.

And of course, you know what happened, don’t you? The weather changed drastically. Temperatures that were supposed to settle down in a cozy, comfy mode of pleasant mid-70 degree Fahrenheit weather instead flared and fired up to the mid-90’s.

When the thermometer hit 95 degrees, my face flushed beet-red and my body temperature gauge felt totally out of control. I literally began to drip perspiration, dreaded all the outdoor walking we had planned to do, and thought I’d just turn into spontaneous combustion right there on the city streets of Boston.

That’s when I lost it. My brain fried, my misery escalated with each soaring degree of temperature, and I totally lost my focus.

And that just happens to have been the photo challenge last week – out of focus.

That perfectly described me – out of focus. I couldn’t concentrate on the historical sights we planned to see.  I couldn’t enjoy the city we had looked forward to visit so much. I couldn’t even dredge up the energy to take photos.  (Now you know how far out of focus I was!)

All I could think about was how scorching hot it felt. How the sweat stung my eyes, dripped off my nose, and ran down my back like a waterfall. How I couldn’t wait to find some cool, air-conditioned spot to just sit and vegetate and try desperately to get my focus back. Even Papa, history buff that he is, realized his enthusiasm was draining as well.

So we succumbed to being senior citizens who can’t take the heat. Folks of a certain age whose focus, energy, and gumption lagged as the roasted heat of the day took its toll.

We took a trolley tour of the city of Boston. We still saw all the sights from our shaded trolley seats but I didn’t get many pictures to prove it. And I just didn’t care.

After the tour ended, we decided to take a harbor cruise in hopes of cooling off a little more. It helped somewhat, but I found myself still…well…out of focus.

We opted to head out of the city and stop along some other points of interest on our way to Rhode Island and Connecticut.  The heat still followed us for a while, but I regained motivation when we drove the entire length of Cape Cod, where I snapped the above photo.  

Hot temperatures were like that beach fence separating me from the cooling waves of the Atlantic. The heat, causing me to become out of focus, distracted me from enjoying a couple vacation days.

But once I regained my focus on appreciating our vacation, the rest of the trip was the balm it was meant to be. Ocean breezes always calm me down like a slathering of cool aloe vera gel on sun-scorched skin.

And oh, yeah, guess who forgot her sunscreen?

“Getting distracted by trifles is the easiest thing in the world… Focus on your main duty.” ~ Epictetus

©2017 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

 

16 responses

  1. You described my reaction to the heat and humidity perfectly. I wilt as well. It sounds like your trip ended up well and that you had a good time despite the heat. The darn weather changes all the time when I travel and “think” I am prepared.

    Like

    • Heat just completely saps my energy! That’s why when hubby says maybe we should move south, I just give him ‘the look.’ 😉 But really, wouldn’t it be nice if we could just ‘dial up’ the perfect weather on trips? Ah well, we did enjoy our vacation especially since it’s been so long since we had one.

      Like

  2. So sorry the weather didn’t cooperate! I love Boston and walking the Freedom Trail. We’ve never been there in the summer months, though, so I’m sure that just wasn’t going to happen for you guys, given the oppressive heat. And… I totally sympathize with your heat struggle right now, too. It was 112 here this past Saturday. Ugh.

    Like

    • Since it was early in the season, we thought it would be cooler and the weatherman ‘lied’ about that one too. Anyway, we want to make a visit to New Hampshire, Vermont, and Maine some time in the future (in the fall or late fall), so we’ll just have to stop in Boston again to walk the Freedom Trail (we rode the trolley for it). Try to stay cool out there, I’d die in the hot temps you’re having. My sister and brother-in-law are here visiting from AZ, and it was 124 there yesterday. I can’t even imagine!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. sorry the heat made your trip less enjoyable. I can’t stand it either, yet spend my life living in FL and TX. Both places are not good to go outside for most of the year- too hot, humid and sweaty. I thought it would be better up in MA?

    Like

  4. I totally understand how you feel about heat, because that’s how I feel about the cold. If I’m cold, almost exactly the same thing happens. Because for me there is no being “cold”- I’m either fine or I’m freezing. There is no in between. Glad you got to visit Boston though!

    Like

    • Now there’s where we are different, my friend. I love the cold! I’d rather be cold than hot because…well….I can always add more layers of clothing if I’m cold but when I’m hot…you get my drift. 😉 I’m glad we saw Boston even if it wasn’t fun for me, but I so enjoyed the rest of our trip and will be sharing more on my blog about it.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Yep! But sometimes I think being in air conditioning makes me even less tolerating of the heat. It’s like my body temperature gauge can’t or won’t adjust accordingly. Oh, just put me in the fridge and I’ll be all right. 😉

      Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

