Go big or go home

blogimg_2949I’m sure I’ve uttered it – that phrase “go big or go home” – countless times but I wonder if I truly accomplish that.  You know, go big or go home.

Big is the theme for Day 7 of the Developing Your Eye photography workshop I’m determined to finish (only three more photography topics to go!).  As I was contemplating what photo personified the theme, that idiom immediately came to my mind.

Go big or go home. It means to go all out. Put your effort into something to the utmost. Be extravagant. Be bold. 

I’m fairly certain embracing boldness is not something I do regularly.  And those who know me can attest that being extravagant doesn’t describe me either. But I do know how to ‘go big.’

A few years ago, our son and daughter-in-love lived near New York City.  During a visit Papa and I made to their place, the four of us ventured into the city for a day.  New York, New York. The Big Apple. The Empire City. The city that never sleeps.

New York is a pretty bold place. And depending on what you do there, it also can be extravagant. It’s a go big or go home kind of place.

For this ol’ country girl, the big city is fun and exciting. And I was determined to go big or go home by climbing all 192 steps from the ground to the pedestal of the Statue of Liberty. Huffing and puffing all the way, I did it, but didn’t have the endurance to go the remaining 154 steps from pedestal to her crown.  Still the reward was awesome seeing the view from the pedestal and also looking up at Lady Liberty to experience first-hand just how gigantic she really was.

She is one BIG girl. From my photo above, you can see the evidence in the folds of her dress and the size of her hand.  From her base to her torch, she stands 151 feet. Including the pedestal and foundation, her full height is 305 feet. Her eight-foot high face is taller than me by almost three feet and she weighs a whopping 450,000 pounds (or 225 tons)!

That big lady represents a big tenet we hold in our country. Freedom from oppression.  Just one of the freedoms, which we foolishly take for granted, that our forefathers fought so tenaciously to secure for future generations.  I easily imagine that our forebears were of the ‘go big or go home’ type of people, don’t you?

They possessed the capability of seeing the big picture and must have been very amazing visionaries to envision what was best for our country’s future as they laid the foundation for it.  Have we lost that ability? I wonder, when it seems like instead of focusing on the bigger picture, we tend to get snagged in petty, little things that really don’t matter.

I’m just as guilty as the next person because I can zero in on petty things and fail to consider the bigger picture.  But I’m also one of those ‘attention to details’ kind of folks. And taking care of the details correctly helps progress towards the big picture or final result.

So the key is balance, I think. Take care of the small (but not petty) things to succeed at the big things.

The one aspect of life in which I definitely want to go big or go home pertains to my faith. The bigger picture can be found by reading God’s Word. I admit it isn’t always clear to me, but one very big thing absolutely is crystal clear. I believe in a Savior who embraces me with bold, extravagant love.  He is a go big or go home Savior.

Jesus went big by dying on the cross to make a way for us to go home, that place where the bigger picture will be revealed to us and where He returned after His time on this earth. Someday, He’s coming back to gather those who get the picture and believe in Him in the small and big things.

But until then, I want to focus on getting not just the small things right but the big things as well – ‘“Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind” and “Love your neighbor as yourself.” (Luke 10:27-28)

You see, I want to go big – all the way for Jesus – so that someday when He does call me home He is able to say, “Well done, good and faithful servant.” (Matthew 25:21)

If you can’t get a handle on the small things, how will you ever get it together to focus on the big things?” ~ Joyce Meyer

©2017 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

4 responses

  1. Very well done post for the workshop. I love your sentence: He is a go big or go home Savior. I can’t say that I’ve ever heard it put that way before, but it’s oh, so fitting.

    Like

  2. “He is a go big or go home Savior.” Agreed, and I fall short so many times. His grace and forgiveness is big, too, and I’m so glad! Lovely post, friend… one of your best! ❤

    Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

