Connected

blogimg_8342Are you feeling connected?

Last summer, I just couldn’t get connected enough to participate in a Developing Your Eye photography workshop, even though I wanted to do so. I’m many months late to the challenge but I’ve chosen to post my take on each day’s theme until I’ve worked my way through all 10 days, even if it takes 10 weeks.

Today I’m posting Day 5’s theme – connect. I’ve chosen a photo of my oldest daughter connecting with her niece (my granddaughter) last summer on a zoo excursion because I enjoyed watching them connect in a loving way. 

As humans, we have connections with anyone with whom we associate. And if we don’t have those connections, we try to make them. Ask any job seeker. Connections are important in the business world, not only to secure a job, but often to get ahead or gain entry into an organization.

Of course, connections are also essential in technology.  I confess I’m not the most technologically savvy person, but without my electronics and yours being connected to the internet, I know I couldn’t publish my blog online and you couldn’t read it. For simplicity’s sake, connections are fasteners linking one thing to another.

We also have our family connections, belonging to or being associated with a group of relatives. I know what you may be thinking – sometimes we have family members who we would rather not be associated with, but for the most part, we do want to belong to a family, be it native or adopted, blood-relations or not.

Connection takes on an even more important role in our personal lives. We humans have an inner desire to be bonded or linked with someone, but it seems to me that often we just don’t know how to achieve that connection very well. 

I’m reminded of a time years ago that I attended a family reunion picnic.  It’s an annual thing but I had never attended in the past, partly because I lived far away and partly because I didn’t really feel like I belonged.   

Technically, I am a part of this “family” because my grandfather possessed this last name and reunion attendees are all descendants of his 12 brothers and sisters. But honestly, I don’t have real connections with this extended family.  Matter of fact, most of them I do not even know.

My grandfather with this family name died in 1964 at the age of 88.  His only child, my mother,  would turn 98 this year if she were still alive. Most of the family members that she knew are deceased as well. So as Yoda of Star Wars fame would say, far removed I am.  I just don’t have a close connection to these distant relatives.

Connections have become part of our daily lives though. We truly are inundated with connectivity more than ever because of technology. Pick up the cell phone and you’re connected. 24-7.  

Whether you text, tweet, or scroll through social media sites, you’re connected. Then why is it that some people feel the exact opposite?  Why do we feel disconnected? 

I speak for myself.  For all the ways I am connected to others, I still feel disconnected too frequently.  Is it just our society? Is it the time we live in now? Is it that our lives are too filled with busyness? I don’t know.

I do know that two things remain constantly connected in my life.  My family, even though our children don’t all live in the same state as we do, is still very much connected to one another. And I am so filled with thankfulness for that. 

The second connection I’m grateful for is my faith in God. I believe that the Lord God created us to be connected. He instilled in us a need to be linked, to be joined, to be loved, and it is He who fulfills that desire by providing a connection to Himself.

God didn’t fashion us to be completely solitary, disconnected from our fellow human beings or from Him.  That’s why He bridged the gap of disconnectedness between His holiness and our sinfulness, by sending His Son, Jesus Christ into this world to provide that vital connectivity link.  Without that, the disconnection I sometimes feel would be unbearable.

And it occurs to me that there is one more connection I’m grateful for – friends I’ve acquired by writing this blog. Some of my readers have become dear friends and I’m so appreciative for our connection.

It’s what gives me encouragement to continue writing and hope that my words in these posts touch your life in a good, meaningful way just as your words, whether they be in a blog of your own or just by your comments, touch mine.

Thank you for that connection.

“The life I touch for good or ill will touch another life, and that in turn another, until who knows where the trembling stops or in what far place my touch will be felt.” – Frederick Buechner

©2017 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

 

 

6 responses

  1. I’m trying hard to get connected within my new community – visiting all the local stores, spending time at the library, checking into volunteer opportunities. I’m also hoping to get (re)connected with my writing, which has suffered as a result of births, deaths, weddings, retirements, selling/buying a house, moving, getting ‘settled’, etc. over the past two years. Its far too easy to become disconnected (from family, friends, dreams); it takes a great deal of effort to connect/reconnect – but I like to think its worth it in the end.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh gosh, I so remember how hard it was to try to get connected in a new community since we have moved several times in our married life not just to different communities but to different states in different areas of the country. It takes effort, doesn’t it? I hope you do get reconnected with your writing. 🙂 Count me in as a reader when you do!

      Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

