What next? Don’t ask

blogIMG_0074 (2)

Don’t know why, but someone decided to place a wooden cutout figure that looks like Bigfoot on one of our country roads.

It was raining cats and dogs…and bears…and turkeys.

Ever have one of those days when you think, “Wow, I should just have stayed home?” You know the kind of day I’m talking about where one thing after another happens and it truly makes you wonder if there’s a message somewhere in it for you.

This past Saturday morning I had a hair appointment.  Nothing unusual about that. Except that my stylist was on vacation so my appointment was scheduled with the salon owner.  But that’s not unusual either. I like her and she did a beautiful job on my hair.

All was good…so far. The salon is not located in my hometown but a 30 minute drive or so away from my house. Rain had been falling steadily but gently on my way there and we’ve needed rain for quite some time now. So, still good.

But later as I stepped outside the salon in my new ‘do,’ it was pouring. And I had left my umbrella in the car.

Luckily I had parked near the salon door, so I threw my purse up over my head and dodged the raindrops to my vehicle. On my way home though, a deluge hit. Major downpour. Rain coming down in sheets.

Visibility on the road, even with the windshield wipers on super speedy and headlights on, proved very poor. I could barely see the car directly ahead of me and I kept my distance from him as he kept tapping his brakes to slow down through the heavy (that’s putting it mildly) rain.

The old saying, ‘raining cats and dogs’ seemed appropriate as I slowed down along with most of the traffic heading eastward, except for the maniacs who were zooming far above the legal speed limit past us all on the four-lane highway in the heavy rainstorm.

One passing motorist weaved over the line into my lane and I thought he was going to sideswipe me for sure. That’s when I started thinking maybe I should have stayed home today. Just as I was considering finding a spot to safely pull over and wait out the torrential downpour, a break came in the storm.

Rain still fell but not as heavily, so I kept driving. With the lull of the storm also came less traffic as I got closer to home.  I turned my wipers onto a slower speed and was grateful I could see the highway better now.

And that’s when I spied it, a large black animal lumbering across the four-lane from the opposite side directly crossing in front of me so closely that I had to slam on my brakes to prevent hitting the creature.

A bear! A bulky, fairly large black bear so close I could see his eyes.  He loped in front of my car, and entered the front yard of a house near the roadway, coming just feet away from that home’s front door. And of course, I didn’t have time to even think about trying to take a photo of that bear with my cell phone.

Yikes!  A bear crossing all four lanes on the highway! Reminded me of the time when a bear scared the beejeebies out of me as it came around the corner of my house while I was sitting on my front porch swing. 

Still driving home, I thanked the good Lord that I hadn’t hit that bear and that the rain, although continuing, wasn’t as torrential as it had been.  Eventually, my heart rate reached normal again.  I turned onto a side country road, a short cut to my house.

Still raining. Still thinking about the bear and the heavy rain.  I came to a rise in a hill and was startled yet again.

Standing in the absolute middle of the road was a huge, brown, ugly dog.  Just standing. Not moving.  Facing me, the oncoming car.

Slamming on the brakes again, I expected him to run off the road into the woods nearby. Nope.  He stood his ground, staring at me, and maybe it was just my imagination but it seemed as though he was outright defying my vehicle and me.  I literally had to steer my car onto the grassy berm on the side of the road to get past him and he continued to glare at me. Let’s just say I was glad it was raining and my car window was up all the way.

Shaking my head with disbelief from that encounter, I drove on past the weird Bigfoot-like wooden creature that someone erected on this country road (in the photo above) thinking I would be glad to get home.  And I must admit, I was formulating a blog post in my mind about all of this too.

The phrase, raining cats and dogs (and bears), was rambling through my mind when – you’re not going to believe it, but it’s the truth – a black and white cat started running down my side of the road towards me.

Really???  Again, I started to wonder what in the world was going on.  We live in the country and yes, it is a bit of a wild kingdom out here.  I’m very accustomed to having deer appear out of nowhere while driving and other small wildlife, but bears?

And now a dog AND a cat?  On the same day within 15 minutes of each other? What next?  No sooner did that thought cross my mind, I found out.  About a half mile from my house, a small flock of wild turkeys decided to step out in front of me onto the road.

You can believe that I was one happy person to finally arrive home, pull my car into the garage, and breathe a sigh of relief that I was back safe and sound.

The rain still gently fell but the downpour was over and my brush with wildlife was finished as well. Or so I thought.

As I sat in our family room beside the open French door that leads to our backyard deck, I started telling my daughter about my wild drive home.  Out of the corner of my eye through the screen door, I saw a nondescript brown blur. Something was making its way around our yard.

Are you kidding me? Nope. I opened the door, stepped out into the rain, peered around one of our backyard trees and there it was.  Another wild turkey just hanging out at our house.

Raining cats and dogs and bears and turkeys. I decided I would not wonder what would come next.  Didn’t want to know.

So I stayed home the entire rest of the day while the rain stopped and the sun emerged. And I hoped all the cats and dogs and bears and turkeys stopped crossing my path at least for the day.

“Into each life some rain must fall.” ~ Henry Wadsworth Longfellow  (He never said anything about bears, dogs, cats, and turkeys!)

©2016 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

10 responses

  1. wow! What an adventure you had! I’m so glad you trip was safe, in spite of all the obstacles you encountered. Guess some days are like that, but yours seemed especially eventful!

    Like

  2. I will miss reading your posts I enjoyed them so much. My prayer is for you to be able to regroup and find some peace and well being in your life at this time. Remember you are loved and enjoyed for your purpose full writings. Love and Prayers sweetie!!!

    Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

