Stop the world

blog266Stop the world, I want to get off.

That was a saying bantered around in the 1960’s and it was actually the name of a Broadway musical stage production back then too. (You older folks will remember the same songs I do from it: What Kind of Fool Am I? and Gonna Build a Mountain.)

Stop the world, I want to get off. The 60’s decade was a turbulent one but it is in the past. Yet here we are some 50 years later and our world seems just as unstable.

Stop the world! I want to get off!

That’s the thought and maybe even the prayer that screams through my mind when I hear the latest news.  Another attack on law enforcement officers in our nation over the weekend. Terrorist attacks taking place with alarming regularity across the globe.

I don’t usually post about what’s going on in the world according to the media.  I don’t want to write about divisiveness and all the negativity that is exactly what the world seems all about right now whether it be in politics, social issues, religions, or even economics.

It’s enough to make my head spin and my heart sick just catching the news on TV or in the newspapers and especially on social media like Twitter or Facebook, which I don’t really credit as being a reliable source of information because there is just way too much wacky stuff on there.

So I generally stay away from those topics here on Mama’s Empty Nest. Why? Not because I don’t care about issues affecting our world today.  I do care so much about many of the ills we suffer in this world; they break my heart and cause me such great concern for the lives of my grandchildren and their future.

And it’s not because I don’t have an opinion or viewpoint on those topics. I certainly do.

But I choose not to write about such things because I try to keep a positive outlook and encourage not discourage. Stir up inspiration not dissension. Be a calming and soothing influence not a catalyst to spark the flames of rage.

I choose not to write about social causes or politics or whatever the latest trend cultural hot spot is because doing so seems to bring out the evil twin that lurks in all of us. 

Today it seems that we can’t just agree to disagree. Instead people resort to hateful name-calling, excessive and angry arguing, and vehement violence in a heartbeat.

But I cannot be silent when my own heart is telling me to proclaim something right here on my blog that I believe with my entire being.

I don’t know how or when this madness is going to stop and I fear it won’t.  It will only escalate unless we do something to change the path of this nation and this world.

And I can’t run away or wish for the world to stop rotating in this vile circle of destruction so I can get off.

What’s happening to us humans on this planet is a serious illness. It’s a heart condition. A blight on the human soul.

But it’s not terminal. At least it doesn’t have to be. I know of only one way to heal these heart and soul conditions. There’s only one way to stop the hate and change human hearts.  

Turn our eyes upon Jesus.

Turn your eyes upon Jesus,
Look full in His wonderful face,
And the things of earth will grow strangely dim,
In the light of His glory and grace.

As for me, that’s what I must and will do. I invite you to do the same.

“The mind can’t delete what the heart won’t let go of.” ~ Peggy Toney Horton

©2016 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

8 responses

  1. Cindy, I’m with you lady. But in recent posts I’ve “been going there” because there is a fire burning in my soul and nothing but proclaiming “Jesus is our only HOPE” will extinguish it. #hopechangeseverything xoxo (Good post and thank you for saying it aloud.)

    Like

  2. Amen, friend. I truly feel that people of faith are being called to prayer and to “step it up” in our lives. I agree with your view of pretty much staying away in my own writings, too. Goodness, even some of the most tame topics I’ve written about have stirred some pretty hateful dissent from one person, and that’s when I had to go back to moderating every single comment. I’m not going to give hate a voice on my blog. Perhaps some gifted folks are called to speak to these difficult topics regularly, but at least for now, I am not.

    You made a very eloquent point today, and I tip my “hat” to you for going there. I still fervently maintain that the negative voices in the news are still a small minority, but maybe I’m wrong. I have family members of all races, thanks to kids adopted out of foster care, and we have friends that are also different races. So maybe I’m just looking at it through my own narrow view. We just need to keep looking for areas of commonality and build on them, continue to just love people… all people… and we need to fall to our knees every single day to lift this larger situation up for divine help. Nice job today. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • It really IS time we wake up and step up, I so agree. Like you, I won’t allow hate to be spewed on my blog either which is why I too moderate each and every comment as well. And I generally do stay away from discussing any of the ‘hot topics’ on here. But this time I believe God was prodding me onward to post this. Thank you for being the wonderful friend that you are and for your always supportive and encouraging comments. The world needs more folks like you, DK!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved reading this and am so in agreement. I feel incapable at the moment of eloquently expressing my views but it seems like there are pockets all over the world who are running on their own type of fuel, fear and hate. I’ve found myself shrinking away from the news, because it’s all too distressing and it feels as though there is nothing we can do to stop the snowball. But you’re right, there is. We have Jesus. We have the best example of love. It’s all there for us, we just need to take the step and love. When it’s difficult, when we’re afraid and when we disagree with someone’s point of view. If we take the time to love on them and understand them, we can at least do something constructive and not destructive. We’ve seen this recently here with our unstable political situation. Thank you for posting this and for the reminder of what I myself can do each day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wish there was a ‘love’ button to press on your comment instead of just a ‘like,’ but it will have to suffice. I think you expressed yourself quite eloquently, my sweet friend. Seek Jesus, pray, and share about Him, that’s what I intend to do.

      Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

