A pair and a spare

blogpair&spare

Then and now – he’s still surprised to be the spare!

Spare time has been a little difficult to find lately in Mama’s Empty Nest, and the nest surely looks a tad disheveled because of it. 

Busy with end-of-the-school-year substitute teaching, numerous activities at church, social outings, appointments, and personal life occurrences requiring attention, I feel like my house is a bit in chaos.  And when my home is in disarray, I feel disordered as well. I need some spare time to get things back under control. 

One of my sisters was in a fairly serious car accident several weeks ago. She is on the mend and doing reasonably well, but I want to spend as much time with her as I possibly can while she recovers.  Then there is an ongoing family situation that we are trying to hurdle over and on top of that, yet another crisis came to visit.

So spare time, what is that?  We are all given only so much time on this earth and I believe what we should do with it is make the most of it, but I also think it’s imperative that we take some time just to be spare.

I shock myself by saying I’m ready for summer and perhaps some spare time during it.  I usually dread the season with its heat and humidity, but this year I’m greeting it full force. 

Slowing down the pace.  Relaxing not rushing.  Having time – yes, spare time – to accomplish some things around the house, in the garden, or just spending unhurried moments with our grandbaby watching her chase bubbles in the air or enjoying play time outside.  Picking blueberries ripe from the bushes. And taking opportunities to just sit on the front porch swing and inhale the wonderful aroma of freshly cut grass.

Time to just enjoy.  That’s what I’m looking forward to with the arrival of summer.  Some bits of spare time.

And “spare” is the subject of this week’s photo challenge.  As soon as I saw the topic, I immediately thought back to over 28 years ago when I gave birth to our son.  We already had two sweet little girls and welcoming another male to join Papa in the family was exciting and surprising as we were certain we would have three of a kind – all girls.

That’s why a comment one of my obstetrics nurses made has stayed in my mind for all of these years.  When I told her that newborn son’s two big sisters were coming to the hospital to visit him for the first time, she commented, “Oh, now you have a pair and a spare.”

A pair and a spare.  My photo depiction for this week’s challenge is actually two pictures of my pair and a spare – my three treasures as children and all grown up.

That pair and a spare made our family complete – a full house – and I wouldn’t have it any other way.  Just as right now, summer and hopefully, some spare time  are arriving and I wouldn’t have that any other way either. 

“There’s time enough, but none to spare.” ~ Charles W. Chesnutt

©2016 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

19 responses

  1. Perfectly perfect Cindy! I always fill my spare time and I don’t realize it was spare. So sorry to read about the family challenges and I’ll keep you in my prayers. Have a wonderful summer.

    Like

  2. Your photos are precious, both then and now! That was a cute quote from the nurse, and I can understand why it’s stayed with you all these years. I’m glad you’re looking forward to summer and its sweet, simple moments. Enjoy!

    Like

  3. I have been attempting to set aside ‘at least’ an hour a day as ‘spare’ time. Between buying and selling (not to mention preparing to sell) homes, planning for my husband’s impending retirement, and spending time with my granddaughter, it’s often difficult. But ‘alone’ time is vitally important – if I don’t deliberately set it aside, I sleep fitfully at night and generally feel horrible the next morning. The problem is that ‘spare’ time can fill up too quickly with other things because (let’s face it) we all feel guilty about ‘wasting’ time. It took me a long time to realize that ‘downtime’ is more important than ‘busy time’.

    Like

    • I wholeheartedly agree, Margo. Downtime is essential and it’s taken me lots of years to finally learn that. Hope all goes well with the buying and selling and your husband’s retirement. And enjoy your time with that grandbaby!

      Like

  4. Pingback: Spare (Floors) | What's (in) the picture?

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

