Saving time in a bottle

blogDSCN8533One thing about time.  We have plenty to say about it.

Time flies. We use that one a lot.

Time heals. We say that to those who have suffered a loss or a broken heart.

It’s about time. We utter that when finally…FINALLY…we encounter a break-through or someone at last understands what we say or do.

Time on my hands.  We think this phrase if we ever get those moments of idleness.

Or maybe we encounter a magical, wonderful event. I had the time of my life.

This week’s photo challenge just happens to be ‘time.’ Say the word and I bet scads of ideas filter through your mind too.  For me, not only do spoken words begin rattling around in my brain but song lyrics as well.

If I could save time in a bottle
The first thing that I’d like to do
Is to save every day till eternity passes away
Just to spend them with you.

As soon as I sing through all the lyrics, or at least the ones I remember, to Jim Croce’s Time in a Bottle, words to yet another song – “No time left for you, on my way to better things” by The Guess Who – commence playing in my memory bank.

And the songs just go on and on Time After Time (Cyndi Lauper) in several Time Passages (Al Stewart) while I may ask Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is (Chicago).

For the Longest Time (Billy Joel), I may attempt to stop hearing those songs in my head but Time Won’t Let Me (The Outsiders) until I put a halt to the jukebox in my brain and declare Closing Time (Semisonic).

I tend to remember song lyrics better than I can recall what I just did with the book I was reading the other day or whether today is trash collection day or not. 

And realizing that some things just get pushed to the back burner and don’t stick in my memory (unless I write them down) has me contemplating that unlike the Rolling Stones song, Time is On My Side, time really isn’t…on my side that is.

The hands of time continue to click off the seconds, minutes, and hours of our lives.  None of us knows exactly how much time we have left in this life on earth. 

But those of us who have passed the half-century mark, and like me are nearing that age called retirement, know that we need to make the most of the time we have left.

Time to love. Time to share. Time to enjoy family and friends. Time to pray. Time to spend with my Savior. Time to focus on what’s truly important in life.

I can’t turn back time even though Cher might like to sing about that (If I Could Turn Back Time).  I can’t retrieve the past. It’s gone. I can only move forward to the future.

If I could make days last forever
If words could make wishes come true
I’d save every day like a treasure and then
Again, I would spend them with you.

If we could put time in a bottle, what treasures or memories would we place there?

Time is important but what we spend it on is even more imperative because those are the things that make treasures and memories we savor.  My desire is to use my time taking every opportunity to encourage and lift someone up with these words that I write.

How about you? How do you want your time to be remembered?

“Four things come not back: the spoken word, the sped arrow, time past, the neglected opportunity.” ~ Arabian proverb

©2016 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

 

8 responses

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

