Talk about vibrant

blog1IMG_3016Vibrant.

It’s the subject of this past week’s WordPress photo challenge.

The first thought that comes to mind when you encounter the word vibrant may be vivid and brilliant color. Many bloggers chose to go that route with their photographs depicting that word and you can view their entries by clicking on this link

But the more I’ve pondered on the word this week, another thought pervaded my mind.

So plucking my trusty American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language off the shelf here in our home office, I checked the definition of the word vibrant.

The first definition: “Exhibiting, characterized by, or resulting from vibration; vibrating.” No, that wasn’t quite what I was thinking.

So I continued to read the second definition: “Pulsing with energy or activity.” Yes, that was it!  That’s what floated around my brain all week.  Vibrant meaning lively, vivacious, exciting.    

Immediately, I knew which photograph I would post for this challenge – a quick capture I snapped standing in Times Square in New York City.

After a day-long excursion around the Big Apple, Papa, our son and daughter-in-law, and I rode the subway to Times Square for dinner and to sightsee some more.  As we ascended the stairs from our subway stop to street level, I instantly sensed the feverish energy and almost manic activity of Times Square. 

All of my senses heightened.  It was evening and the myriad of flashing brilliant neon lights and signs flooded my eyes.  The noise level increased tremendously as we brushed against the crowds of people on the sidewalk. Everywhere you turned something to observe or hear or experience presented itself. Sensory overload, but in a good and exciting way.

Times Square definitely pulsed with non-stop energy and exhilarating activity.  And if that isn’t an example of vibrant, I don’t know what is.

“There is something in the New York air that makes sleep useless.” ~ Simone Beauvoir

©2016 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

3 responses

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

