Weighty thoughts

blog171We are just about halfway through this brand new month of this brand new year and I bet you lots of people are focused on weight.  That New Year resolution to lose the extra pounds, exercise daily, or start a healthy eating plan is top priority on the list.

Have you noticed there’s always a solution touted to help you do so?  Just pick up a sales circular from any department or discount store; all the exercise clothes, equipment, and diet stuff is on sale.  The “lose weight feel great” ads are all over the media whether it’s on TV or radio, in magazines or newspapers, or on the computer screen as you browse the internet.

This diet. This exercise program. This exercise machine. This pill or this powder or this shake or this energy bar….whatever it may be, the promise is that you will lose the excess weight if you just buy the product or join the club.

We are obsessed with losing weight and I can’t even imagine the amount of money we Americans pour into trying to achieve that goal.  Lord knows, I’ve succumbed in the past. 

But now, I’m not as worried about the number on the scales as I am about whether I’m keeping myself healthy or not. And keeping healthy doesn’t just mean my physical body, it encompasses my mental, emotional, and even more importantly, my spiritual health.

This week’s WordPress photo challenge is “weight (less).”  You get to choose.  You may demonstrate something with weight or not by showing something seemingly weightless.

A number of years ago, our oldest daughter lived and worked down South.  One fall, Papa and I spent a week’s vacation driving down there to spend time with her. Together, the three of us toured the US Space and Rocket Center in Huntsville, AL, an amazing place to visit.

While walking through the outdoor Rocket Park there, we came upon a display portraying what a moon crater might be like and Papa and Daughter tried their hardest to appear weightless like they were walking on the moon.

Of course, gravity always brought them down to earth and it took several tries before I got a decent picture of them being “weightless.”

And in life, isn’t that the truth? We may experience a sky-high period of excitement in life whether it’s falling in love or the best vacation ever or experiencing the birth of a child but something always brings us down to earth.

We may say we love someone to the moon and back but that’s the thing, we always come back.  Back to real life.  Back to reality at its best and worst.  We get weighed down by daily life, by troubles that come our way (and they do come, no matter who you are), by disappointments or disagreements, by the horrific events that take place in our world.

We often feel like we are carrying the weight of the world on our shoulders.  Wouldn’t it be amazing if we could just feel weightless?

What we do with those burdens that befall upon us is our choice though.  We can trudge through this life saddled with a huge encumbrance weighing us down, breaking our spirit for life, and carry that load until we fall exhausted and broken.

Or we can turn that millstone over to Someone who has more strength and ability to carry the load.  Someone who already carried all the burdens this world has to offer on an old rugged cross.  Someone who offers us rest from our wearying weight.

That Someone gave us an invitation to do exactly that in Matthew 11:28-30:  “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

Life is too precious to spend it carrying a heavy load.  I’m choosing to be weightless.

“Bad things do happen; how I respond to them defines my character and the quality of my life. I can choose to sit in perpetual sadness, immobilized by the gravity of my loss, or I can choose to rise from the pain and treasure the most precious gift I have – life itself.” ~ Walter Anderson

 ©2016 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

4 responses

  1. Good thoughts for this day and this new year! I love your “weightless” photo of your sweeties, too. Life is a gift to truly treasure. Amen! I am so much more keenly aware of that fact after the events in our family over the past year. Hugs! ❤

    Like

    • We all have our loads to bear but I am constantly reminded that we don’t have to bear them alone. In regards to the photo, I found it funny and ironic that the person who had the most weight in this photo also had the most trouble appearing weightless! Ha! Daughter nailed it in every photo whereas Dad, not so much. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

