Correcting blurred vision

blogIMG_3541 (2)Sidetracked.  Have you felt like that every once in awhile?  Happens to me fairly often. 

It reminds me of that old saying, “can’t see the forest for the trees.”  In the past, I’ve found myself so fixated on a problem that had arisen, that I didn’t stop to consider what impact, if any, it might have for the future.

Usually, the problem really isn’t something that will matter five or ten years from now or even 20.  Over the last few years, I’ve finally learned not to sweat the small stuff. 

Call it maturing, call it getting older, call it wisdom.  I don’t know what eventually caused me to realize that, but I’m ever so glad I learned to let go of trivial matters and consider what’s truly important for eternity.

A situation has been bothering me for some time now, soon it will be an entire year.  And I’ve still not muddled my way through it nor ended the feelings it provokes.  It’s time.  It’s past time.  Will it alter the future?  Yes.  But it’s something I have to learn to live with.

As always, I turn to prayer when problems surface.  I also usually ask friends who are steadfast prayer warriors to join me in praying over the issue. I just recently enlisted their aid once again when anger, frustration, worry, great concern, and hurt threatened to overwhelm me.  I’m thankful for the many friends who jumped on my prayer wagon to storm the gates of heaven.  

Some of my far-away friends sent me encouraging private messages on Facebook. Others texted me with words that proved to be exactly what I needed to hear and needed to focus on – words like, “It doesn’t get easier. You just have to live through it. You will get through this even when you think you can’t, you will. You are a strong woman of God and He is right by your side.”

See, sometimes my vision gets clouded.  Clouded by trouble.  Obscured by emotions.  Blurred by things I cannot change.  Veiled by worries.  Overshadowed by situations that cause me distress. Eclipsed by circumstances beyond my control.

And that’s when I must stop being sidetracked.  Stop letting the trees prevent me from seeing the forest.  Stop focusing on how I feel and instead turn my attention to all the many blessings I have for which to be thankful.

I am blessed that my friends help me remember that – they keep me on track. They help me see clearly and I’m so grateful that God provided these friends just for me.  

As always, I return again to a passage of Scripture that I’ve embraced and embedded in my heart and mind. 

And I like this translation of that passage in The Message: “Be cheerful no matter what; pray all the time; thank God no matter what happens. This is the way God wants you who belong to Christ Jesus to live.” ~ 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Some concerns, no matter how urgent or difficult they seem, should be left in God’s strong and capable hands. What I do, how I react, and what impact I make on others is what truly counts for what lies in the future – for eternity.

It’s a lesson I continue to be taught, to re-learn, to completely understand and absorb.  I’m hopeful that I will allow God to correct my blurred vision. In this new year of new beginnings, are you like me?  Does your vision need corrected? 

“Like steam from a cup of hot tea that fogs our glasses, false urgency of matters at hand blurs our vision to important things in the distance.” ~ Terri Guillemets

©2016 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

4 responses

  1. Blessings to you as you continue to deal with this struggle, sweet friend. I hope you have a good friend, pastor or counselor to maybe help you a bit going forward. I’ve definitely been in that situation, and the counsel of such a person can truly help to move past situations like this if you find yourself stuck for too long or just longer than you want. Been there, done that. Not sure where I would be today without that help from others when I needed it most. 😉 ❤

    Like

    • Thank you for your sweet blessings, D. Believe me, I have counseled — first with God, then with a pastor, and also with wise and godly friends. When the issue is watching a loved one being betrayed and hurt and there is nothing this Mama can do to fix that, it’s so difficult. But it is all in God’s capable hands.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad I read this. Two things come to mind. “Eating the bread of worry” (YUK) in Psalms. And, in Job, “what Job feared most came to pass.” Don’t feed the worry bin – we have to be intentional in our thoughts. Let the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be acceptable to You, O Lord my Strength and my Redeemer. Psalm 19.14 (I think) 😉

    Like

    • Oh, I so agree about not feeding the worry bin! I have been striving to be intentional in my thoughts because the result of not doing so would be extreme bitterness (and I’ve been down that road before and don’t want to re-visit it!). As you know, those prayers I asked for weren’t for me, they were for my hurting loved one. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me. You know how much I appreciate them, sweet friend!

      Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

