So long, 2015

blogIMG_5058 (2)

Best of 2015 – our first grandchild’s birth

New Year’s Eve.  For most people, it’s a time to look back over the departing year and look forward to the year arriving in a few hours.

Kind of like taking stock of your situation.  What were the high points of the year that you will never forget?  And if you’re like most of the human race, there were also low points that made an impact on your life too.

Looking back over 2015, I can honestly say it was one of the most wonderful years of my life and yet at the same time, it was the most difficult one as well.

The high point?  Oh, no question about that one.  It was the birth of our first grandchild.  She is our shining jewel, our delight, and she brings such joy, happiness, and laughter into this empty nest of ours.  Every time I look at her, overwhelming love swells up in my heart and overflows in a kind of bliss that I’d almost forgotten – that kind of love I felt when I held my own babies in my arms.

But in addition to the elation of becoming grandparents, this year brought great sorrow. A crisis affected us dramatically causing my emotions to fly all over the map from anger and hurt to disappointment and disgust and everywhere in between. 

The turmoil and pain caused by it affected our entire family.  Months later, Papa and I still don’t understand the person who caused it or why it happened and perhaps we never will. We simply are supporting and helping the wounded one recover and move on with life.

So 2015 proved to have a split personality – one ever so amazing and one so very dreadful – and will go down in the books as one of the best and worst years of my life.  I can’t say that I’m sorry to see it end and be banished to the history pages of existence.

Today I scanned over this year’s blog posts in order to find what I thought was perhaps my best post to re-share it with you.  In doing so, I realized that out of the 365 days of this year, I only published 83 posts (counting this one today) and many of those were just photographs. 

This year stole much from me – time, emotion, and even my writing – and I allowed it to do so.  Re-reading the posts I did write, I realized something profound. When I did write, the crisis we encountered proved to outweigh my joy.  No more.  With the Lord’s help, I am putting a stop to that. I intend to focus on what my Bible tells me – the joy of the Lord is my strength.

I am anticipating this New Year with hopeful outlook, with healing for my loved ones and myself, with joyful expectation.

I trust you are doing the same.  

“What the New Year brings to you will depend a great deal on what you bring to the New Year.” — Vern McLellan

©2015 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

 

10 responses

  1. Understand your joy and sorrow for 2015 and share it with you. Even though your blogs were not as joyful as you may have wanted, they still gave me many moments of comfort and inspiration. Thank you for sharing your gift with us. (still think you need to publish a book). Wishing you and yours the best year our Heavenly Father can provide.

    Like

  2. I’m thinking in my mind as I’m reading this… for everything there is a season… you know. It was a year of highs and lows for me as well. I also had to pretty much “let go” of a person in my life through it all, and while it has been hard, it is also reaping big benefits for me to just “let go and let God.” What an understatement, too. That person cannot live rent free in my head any more. If God sees fit as some point in the future, we will reconnect once again. For now, I believe that God is permitting me to be spared from some unnecessary drama that I cannot do anything about anyway. It is a very good thing, at least right now. 😉

    Like

    • I remember the highs and lows for you this year, but God saw both and you and me through it as He always does. And we give Him the glory. And for those…shall we say difficult people?…I liked the way you put it, “That person cannot live rent free in my head any more.” I need to share that thought with my wounded loved one.

      Liked by 1 person

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

