Through the eyes of a child

blogIMG_6606

Grandbaby with her auntie

If you’re a long-time reader of Mama’s Empty Nest or even if you just tuned in this past year, you probably know that I became a grandmother for the very first time in 2015.  I haven’t posted much in this blog about my adorable grandchild for a couple of good reasons.

First of all, I want to maintain and protect her privacy.  After reading way too many articles about people abusing social media and stealing photos of children online and a bit of privacy invasion happening to my older daughter (some sicko created a social media account using her name with a stolen photo of her and her baby niece), I decided to limit what I share for all the cyber world to see in both words and photos of my sweet little one.

But mostly, even I have a difficult time putting into words the absolute joy my baby granddaughter brings me.  Folks tried to forewarn me that becoming a grandparent was like riding a skyrocket of love to the moon and back.  I would nod my head and listen but never in my wildest dreams did I imagine the overwhelming love that one feels when a grandchild is placed in your arms.

Each and every day, I have the privilege of watching my daughter being the best Mama to my grandbaby – and really, that’s what she is, a grand baby.  

What does this privilege bring to Nana and Papa’s lives?  Oh, so very much.  Absolute joy… unconditional love…grins and giggles…excitement and elation….the list could go on and on indefinitely. 

I just can’t find adequate words to describe what overwhelms my heart when my grandbaby snuggles against me, when I cradle that sweet, downy head in my hand, watching her face light up with that huge toothy grin when she sees me, or when she reaches our her little arms for me.

Yes, it’s a love affair.  I love my precious grand-daughter and I love being her Nana.

And now, it’s the Christmas season.  Her very first one.  And I’m seeing Christmas again through the eyes of a child. 

Even though she’s still a baby not even one year old yet, she’s excited about Christmas. Each morning as her mama brings her downstairs after awakening, baby points to the Christmas tree in the living room and tells us in her baby babble that she wants to see the lights. 

Lighting up the tree brings her joy evidenced by her smiles, happy noises, and when she reaches out to gently touch the tree boughs and what seem to be her favorite ornaments (the ones that jingle make her particularly animated). 

Next we visit some of the other lighted decorations around the house, the sleigh bells hanging on the front door, her snowman stocking hung on the fireplace, and the nativity scenes nestled in greenery (and more lights!) and gracing the top of the piano. All bring her delight and in turn do the same for me.

The shiny outdoor lights adorning our home equally enthrall her.  That’s why we decided one evening last week that she wasn’t too young to take her to a drive-through Christmas light display at a county fairgrounds in a nearby town.  Scads of other folks decided to partake of the display too and we inched along in a miles-long queue of vehicles waiting to get into the display.

Baby got a bit antsy.  And so did we.  We listened to Christmas music on the radio and sang along as we slowly advanced towards the entrance. Sweet little one loves music so this pacified her for a while.  Finally, we paid our way and entered the display which was an intricate light show perfectly timed to Christmas music.

Oh, the squeals of delight that filled our car!  Since we literally were traveling less than five mph, daughter freed baby from her rear-facing car seat so she could see the displays from her mama’s arms.

As vivid lights burst forth on both sides of the roadway, our precious one couldn’t contain her excitement.  She laughed, she shrieked happily at the top of her lungs, she pounded her little hands on the car window like she wanted to reach out and grab those brilliant arrays of color.

Even though it was getting late in the evening, past her bedtime, and she had been weary and a tad cranky during the long wait (and she wasn’t the only one), all of that disappeared as the excitement of Christmas filled her eyes (and ours).

Christmas through the eyes of a child.  What a wonderful way to celebrate the birth of yet another child – our Savior come to earth, Emmanuel, God with us.

I’m thankful yet again that the Lord blessed us with our own sweet little grandchild.  And my heart is grateful for the most precious gift of Christmas, God’s only Son, that baby born in a manger so long ago.

“In the eyes of children we find the joy of Christmas. In their hearts we find its meaning.” ~ Leland Thomas

©2015 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

15 responses

  1. I was so excited reading your sweet girl’s reaction to the decorations. My precious grand daughters will be here Tuesday, and I can hardly contain my excitement till their arrival so I can experience the wonders of Christmas with them . Wishing all of your family a very Merry Christmas together, and a healthy and happy 2016. Miss you friend!!!

    Like

    • Thank you so much Dianna! I took that photo the day after Thanksgiving when my girls helped me decorate our Christmas tree. Our little one was just enthralled by it all. She really is the apple of our entire family’s eye. 🙂

      Like

  2. Once again, I am struck by how similar our lives and experiences are. I read your post after spending the day with my own precious granddaughter and she had very similar responses to the decorations her parents had put up while she slept the night before – she had to point out every single one to me and check it out thoroughly before moving to the next one. Christmas is going to be such a special time this year (I can barely conceal my excitement). My two boys and their wives and the baby will be here on Boxing Day so we can celebrate as a family and I can’t wait to see her response to my decor (never mind watching her open her presents). Children (especially the wee little ones) certainly bring the joy back to the season. All the best to you and yours!

    Like

    • Oh, Margo, the joy we shall have this Christmas because of our wee ones! I can hardly contain myself either. Haven’t felt so excited since my own children were little. Wishing you blessings after blessings for your family this joyous season.

      Like

  3. What a wonderful story! Christmas through “the eyes of a child,” particularlywhen it’s your own precious granddaughter, has to be the most special time in the world. Continue to enjoy and to experience the wonder Cindy and Merry Christmas to you and yours. 🙂

    Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

