What creeps me out

blogIMG_3972 (2)There aren’t a lot of things I can identify that would be classified into my ‘creep out zone’ – you know, things that you find creepy.

Tons of novels and movies abound that are filled with creepiness, but I choose not to read them or watch them.  I mean, really, why allow those imagined creepy images to infiltrate the recesses of my mind when happenings in the real world with real people are creepy enough?

So no, I don’t do creepy.  But today I found myself searching for photos in my picture cache to personify this word because this week’s photo challenge theme is – you guessed it – creepy.

So what seems creepy to me?  An abandoned and deteriorating house situated out in the country?  No.  That just makes me sad thinking of the family that may have once lived there and the joys and struggles they may have experienced in their home.

Scenes in a cemetery, are they creepy?  Not to me.  I find cemeteries fascinating again imagining the lives that once lived on this earth and all that they may have experienced during their time on this planet.

What about photos shot in the cover of nighttime, when it’s really dark outside, the sky is obscured by clouds, and the only light penetrating the black velvet covering is a slice of moonlight?  Nope.  Not creepy for me.

So what gives me the creeps?  It’s usually things I can’t see.  And how do you photograph what you can’t see?

So my next thought concentrated on that idea.  And I identified at least two occurrences that totally creep me out when they happen and for them, I do have corresponding photographs.  

I scream and totally go spastic when I walk into an unforeseen spider web.  The thought of it even now makes me shudder and creeps me out.  I don’t mind looking at wispy webs but I can’t stand the thought of them (and the spider) actually being in my hair or on my hand or face.  Yikes!  Creepy!

It’s been a few years since I’ve been to the beach (you can feel sorry for me here).  When we lived in the Pacific Northwest, trips to the beach were common and even now living on the other side of the country, we’ve taken many vacations to the shore, just not lately.

I love the beach.  I love the ocean.  I love sitting in the sand in my beach chair, reading a good book, and listening to the ebb and flow of ocean waves.  It’s a happy place. 

This one is safely behind glass at the aquarium

This one is safely behind glass at the aquarium

But actually diving into that ocean water is another thing.  Wading out into the tide?  Ah, not so much.  I will go out into the water up to my knees and no further.  Actually swim in the briny?  No thank you.  I’ll stick to the pool.

Why?  Because the farther you go out into ocean water, the less you can see what’s in it.  And when seaweed or – yikes again! – something else unidentifiable swirls around my legs and feet or brushes against me, it’s creepy. 

You just don’t know what’s lurking in the water underneath or around you.  After all the shark sightings at our eastern seaboard beaches this summer, I don’t think I’m being unreasonable about that one.

“The oldest and strongest emotion of mankind is fear, and the oldest and strongest kind of fear is fear of the unknown.”  ~ H. P. Lovecraft

©2015 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

9 responses

    • Spiders do creep me out but not as much as they do my oldest daughter. She goes hysterical when she’s confronted by a spider or any bug really….which is funny because she was a molecular biology major and travels all over the place where I’m sure she’s encountered all kinds of creepy insects. And sharks – well enough said.

      Like

  1. I’m with you again on fear of the unknown. I used to swim out into the ocean all the time when I was a kid. Nowadays – nope. And it isn’t just because of the shark outbreak. It’s the creepy things you can’t see. Spider webs – yep. We are on the same page. 🙂

    Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

