My soul and my heart’s inspiration

Inspiration right in my own back yard

Inspiration right in my own back yard

What inspires you?  That’s the question on my mind this week and it’s also the Word Press weekly photo challenge theme. 

Inspiration and motivation have been a bit lacking lately as I attempt to get back on the blog writing cycle.  And when I saw the notice that Inspiration was the photo challenge, as usual my memory bank dialed up an old song and the lyrics to it played through my mind.

The year was 1966 and the love song was released by The Righteous Brothers.

You’re my soul and my heart’s inspiration
You’re all I got to get me by
You’re my soul and my heart’s inspiration
Without you baby what good am I?

If I take those words written as the chorus to that song and truly contemplate them, what would I replace the word “you’re” with?  In this love song, obviously the words are directed at a loved one – girlfriend/boyfriend or spouse.

You could substitute any person who inspires you into these lyrics.  Perhaps a family member motivates you – your parents, your siblings, your children/grandchildren, or another relative.

Maybe a famous person is your source of inspiration, someone you admire who has done great things for humanity and you want to emulate that amazing person. Perhaps someone like Mother Teresa motivates you. 

Maybe what inspires you isn’t a person at all but something else that’s tangible like music.  Visual arts.  Photography.  Nature.  Or it could be an ideal that causes inspiration to swell up inside you – like patriotism for your country, serving those less fortunate than yourself, pursuit of the things that make you happy, the list could be endless.

On any given day, my inspiration may change. 

One day viewing a beautiful sunset surrounded by nature may inspire me; the next day, looking into my baby granddaughter’s eyes stirs up my emotions.  

Some days listening to the rhythmic beauty of classical music motivates me.  And the next, a vivid photograph I’ve captured with my camera lens sends my thoughts soaring to wrestle with words (which are also very inspirational to me) to create a blog post.

But there is something that remains constant for me each and every day.  Something endures that proves to be a perpetual source of inspiration for me.  But I have to be purposeful in taking that item from its spot on my desk, opening it, and reading it so the insights I gain from it transfer to my daily life.  It provides my encouragement.  It provides my motivation.  It provides flashes of revelation and yes, much inspiration.

My source is my Bible.  And it provides motivation for me to be thankful for the One who inspires me the most – my Savior Jesus Christ.

I can easily insert His name into that old 60’s song. 

You’re my soul and my heart’s inspiration
You’re all I got to get me by
You’re my soul and my heart’s inspiration
Without you Jesus what good am I?

“Our chief want is someone who will inspire us to be what we know we could be.” ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

For me, that someone is Him.

©2015 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

One response

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

