This is my country

My country…it has its beauty.  My country…it has its flaws.  

Yet it is still my country and I wouldn’t want to claim citizenship in any other country but this one.  Because when you strip away all the things that you may not agree with, one thing does still remain.  

My country is the land of the free…at least so far.  

And as we head into this holiday we celebrate in July – this Independence Day – when we hold picnics and family gatherings and ooo and aah over nighttime fireworks – we must remember one thing.  We must strive, we must fight, we must never give up to keep our freedom no matter what.  And for me, I will also put my trust in God to help me do just that.

For the rest of this week, I’m publishing a photo essay each day until the fourth of July.  And I’m setting my photos to the lyrics of one of my favorite patriotic songs, My Country Tis of Thee.

Join me in commemorating my country, the land of the free and the home of the brave.

“My country tis of thee…”

blogIMG_3624

blogIMG_3324

blogIMG_3674

©2015 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

2 responses

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

