Looking for the ‘on’ switch

Pittsburgh Steelers stadium off season

Pittsburgh Steelers stadium off season

I’m off.  Really off.

It’s been going on for longer than I would like.  Months.  And the reason why I’m off is because life has totally taken a different turn from the norm. 

This season of life somehow has been thrown off track.  Plans haven’t developed like they should have.  There have been way too many twists and turns in the road sending me veering in several directions.

And that throws me off. Off balance.  Off kilter.  Off. Off. Off.

That’s how I’ve been feeling.  My writing is off.  My thoughts are off.  Circumstances beyond my control have even threatened to cast off my joy.  And if I’m perfectly honest, even my faith has been thrown off like a rodeo rider hitting the dust when he’s tossed off that bucking bronco.

That’s why this week’s photo challenge seemed to just smack me in the face with the theme  – Off Season.

I am in an off season.  I’m soft and useless and out of shape.  I’m wallowing from occurrences and events and it has thrown me completely off.  And I’m tired of being off and desperately want to find the on switch.

I recently saw a motivational poster that boasted this message: “The best athlete is made during the off season.”

I’m hopeful that is the truth.  I know that during the off season, you can’t just lie around doing nothing.  You have to keep at it…whatever it is whether it’s sports or life.  You can’t expect to improve your situation, your skills, your life if you don’t practice what you preach. 

So you work hard during the off season.  You rest for a time, yes, but you don’t slack off completely. You don’t ignore your training.

You see I’ve been doing that.  I’m off my training.  Off from reading God’s Word and incorporating it into my life because I’ve been consumed with something that seems to have derailed my train.

And I know I need to get back on the training treadmill so to speak.  Because only through God’s Word can I be made stronger.  Only reading His messages will help me endure.  Help me persevere.  Help me help others.   Help us all finish this race called life on this earth.

My Guidebook for life tells me in the book of James, Chapter 1, verses 2-4 that we will face trials and temptations in this life. We must expect them and realize that those tests will produce perseverance when we allow our faith to grow during that time.

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.”

So I’m suiting up for training.  I’m grabbing this off season by the horns and I’m going “… one more round when you don’t think you can – that’s what makes all the difference in your life.”  (from the movie Rocky IV)

Just call me Rocky.

 “That which we persist in doing becomes easier, not that the task itself has become easier, but that our ability to perform it has improved.” — Ralph Waldo Emerson

©2015 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

12 responses

  1. Dear Cindy,
    The electricity is connected to your switch always and just waiting for you to flip it. He is good that way with His love. He never forces himself on us to show our light to the world. He knows when we need Him and will wait patiently for us to ask for His power. Prayers are constantly going up for all of you and only time will get you into the new season of your life. It has been said that what doesn’t kill us makes us stronger and you all will come away from this like Samson. Keep on keeping on, child of God. Your Father is the King. Love always.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my, you are definitely in an Ecclesiastes 3:1 season, friend. While I do not know what all is going on, I do know that you are not alone. God is with you right now… this very minute and every minute that follows! In my darkest days, the music of Phillips, Craig and Dean has always deep into my heart and soul, and the song, “No Matter How Long It Takes” might have actually saved me one very dark and trying night many years go. Give it a listen today, and know that you remain in my daily prayers, sweet thing. Love you! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • We all have our seasons, don’t we? But God is faithful to be with us through every one. I’m just standing firm in Him “no matter how long it takes.’ Thank you, my friend, for your words of encouragement, prayers, and reminder of that song. Love you right back! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. So many of us feel the same way. We are cleaving to Him the best we can. I pray this for you too. I love how you put what I feel into words when I can’t. 😉 And I put a lot of things into words! ROFLOL Hugs, Susie

    Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

