When vivid lives in your memory

blogIMG_5751

Vivid light show underneath a bridge

I don’t claim to have a vivid imagination.  Really when it comes right down to it, I’m more of a factual, tell it like it is kind of person.

As far as living in fantasy land, no thank you.  I prefer living in the real world, even when I don’t like what’s happening in it very often.

But although my imagination lacks vividness, vibrant and intense images truly do captivate and fascinate me.  That’s why this week’s photo challenge – vivid – sent me browsing through my photography cache in search of an image that portrays this theme.

One aspect of photo taking that I truly enjoy happens to be spying something vivid that begs to be captured by my digital camera.

So my quandary this week was choosing which photo to publish.  Should I select one of the many shots of brightly colored flowers I’ve taken over the years right in my own flower garden?  Those photos are certainly vivid.

Or should I opt for a stunning sunset photo shot right off my back yard deck?  Or one of the more dramatic photos of unusual architecture or a picture demonstrating the exuberance of life? They all embody this vivid theme. 

Instead I decided to use this photo which was taken over Memorial Day weekend two weeks ago. 

Papa and I, along with the rest of our immediate family, visited our son and daughter-in-law in the state next door for the holiday.  The weekend proved to be chock full of much needed family fellowship, laughter, and fun excursions.

On our way back to their home one evening after a truly enjoyable day spent together at a festival, I captured this photo. Dusk had already arrived and evening’s darkness was descending when we drove past a bridge which caught my eye. 

While stopped at a traffic light, I watched synchronized colored lights appear in intervals underneath the span.  I’d never seen anything quite like that before so I grabbed my camera and managed to take a couple photos before the light changed and traffic progressed.

Those lights, showcased on a background of sunset, captured the essence of vivid to me.  But even more, the memories we made that day, those unforgettable moments of family love and togetherness are what will remain vivid in my mind.

“Some memories are unforgettable, remaining ever vivid and heartwarming!” ~ Joseph B. Wirthlin

©2015 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

 

8 responses

  1. That is one way cool picture, how fun that you could capture it for the rest of us to enjoy.

    Sounds like you had a good day ‘s outing, good for the soul. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    • We had a good weekend outing over Memorial Day. It was VERY good for my soul. Hopefully, I’m going to get a chance to sit down and write you a long letter soon. Your letters are so fun to get in snail mail! Thank you, my dear friend.

      Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

