An intricate world

blogIMG_4513

An intricate chandelier at Heinz History Center

Life.  There are intricacies in this world we live in that even with all the advances made in science, we still do not comprehend.  

Intricate is the theme for this week’s photo challenge and I notice complex items everywhere I look. My trusty dictionary defines intricate as “having many complexly arranged elements and difficult to solve or comprehend.”

Consider nature.  Look closely at a blooming flower.  Real close.  What do you see? Intricacy.

Consider man-made items.  Even the simplest of these took an inventive, creative mind to create or form or fashion.  An intricate plan.

Consider our human bodies.  Each and every aspect must work perfectly together to sustain life in our human form.  If that’s not intricate, I don’t know what is.

Scads of people think all of this intricacy just happened.  Boom.  The Big Bang.  And that we humans came to exist through evolution.  

I’m not one of those.  When I seriously consider the intricacy of the world around me, I cannot believe the multifaceted inner workings of a blossom or the ability to build an amazing machine or the astounding ways our human bodies work was just an accident. I cannot believe those aspects of life just simply happened on their own.   

No, I believe there is a Master Designer.  I believe that He exists and His knowledge and power and majesty go beyond anything our human minds can comprehend. 

I believe God created all things.

“In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.” ~ Genesis 1:1  

And that includes us humans with our intricate bodies and our complex minds.

“I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.” ~ Psalm 139:14

And I simply choose to believe each time I contemplate this life in this intricate world created by the author of intricacy, an intricate God.

“There is nothing in the world more beautiful than the forest clothed to its very hollows in snow. It is the still ecstasy of nature, wherein every spray, every blade of grass, every spire of reed, every intricacy of twig, is clad with radiance.” ~ William Sharp, Scottish Poet, 1855-1905

©2015 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com  

2 responses

  1. Lovely thoughts, Mama. I cling to those facts about the intricatcy of God’s creation in times of uncertainty in my life. Pondering the care and genius of His work that surrounds me on a morning walk in the woods blows away all doubt and helps me regain my footing. Thank you for this reminder Mama.

    Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

