Hanging around and waiting

blogIMG_4785 (2)

Grand-parenthood awaits me.  Our middle daughter and her husband are expecting our first grandchild, a little girl.  Sugar and spice and everything nice. And we can’t wait.

But that’s exactly what we must do.  Wait.  So as the due date nears, we’re just hanging around waiting for our granddaughter to make her appearance.  And to kiss those little toes that will fill these tiny little socks.

You know that old saying, “Good things come to those who wait.”

I’m having a hard time waiting for this good gift, this little blessing,  from the Lord.  But wait, we will. She will arrive when she is ready and Papa and I are more than ready to be her grandparents. We’re ready for our family to start connecting the dots. 

“Grandchildren are the dots that connect the lines from generation to generation.” ~Lois Wyse

©2015 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

14 responses

  1. I know exactly how you feel! I, too, am waiting for a baby granddaughter to arrive. She was due last week but, like her father (son #1), has decided to bide her time and keep us all on tenter-hooks. The doctor has finally declared tomorrow as ‘D (delivery) Day’ (hes going to induce labour to avoid complications). I’m thrilled, excited, terrified, nervous, anxious, and so full of love and anticipation I can barely breathe. I can’t wait to hold my very first grandbaby in my arms.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We are excited for you. What a gift our children are and from what I have heard being grandparents is even more of a blessing (if you can imagine that)! Praying for mom and little girl to have a safe, no complications, delivery and a life filled with God’s love. I know she will get a lot of love from her family.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Young adults still in no hurry to leave the nest | carriesmindsphere

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

