Expressed in love

Empty nest at sunrise

Empty nest at sunrise

Some of us are loud.  Some of us are quiet.  Some of us use bold gestures and words.  Some let others speak for us.

Some of us ‘speak’ without words through art, music, work, the way we dress, what we eat, and the list could go on and on. When it comes to expressing ourselves, the ways we do so are as diverse as the myriad hues of color. Variations upon variations.

This week’s photo challenge – Express Yourself – caused me to think about how I express myself.  I’m a communicator.  That’s why I love words – both spoken and written.  Expressing myself is one reason why I write this blog. 

But I also express myself through the lens of my camera.

“The camera always points both ways. In expressing your subject, you also express yourself.” ~ Freeman Patterson

I do imagine that my photos speak for me, describe me, help the viewer get a sense of who I am even without me expounding on them.  That’s why I enjoy Wordless Wednesdays so much.

What we do truly does demonstrate who we are.  And just like everything in this world, our actions can be positive or negative.  We can encourage others through our self-expressions or tear others down. 

This morning I thought about my family since they are an expression of me and how each one of them depicts themselves. And I thought I’d give you a glimpse into their expressions.

blogIMG_2151Oldest daughter expresses herself through music, she’s a talented pianist, but she also reveals who she is through her love of adventure in travel.

blogIMG_3056Son also demonstrates himself through music.  A self-taught guitarist, he reveals his engineering side through this cigar box guitar he fashioned that really makes beautiful music.

blogIMG_4282Middle daughter is musical too, she sings.  But how she really reveals herself is through emotions and you can usually see that through her facial expressions.

Papa serving others in his civic organization

Papa serving others in his civic organization

Papa shows who he is by his works of service from his involvement in a community civic organization to the many ways he serves others in our church.  That’s how he expresses himself.

But it occurs to me that none of our self-expressions mean a thing if they are based only in self, done to glorify self, to exalt ourselves, to bring attention to self.  Because when we focus on self, how can we express love?  Self-love maybe, but certainly not love for others. 

For me, expressing myself needs to have a backbone and that backbone is faith in my Savior.  Faith expressed in love.

“I suspect you would never intend this, but this is what happens. When you attempt to live by your own religious plans and projects, you are cut off from Christ, you fall out of grace. Meanwhile we expectantly wait for a satisfying relationship with the Spirit. For in Christ, neither our most conscientious religion nor disregard of religion amounts to anything. What matters is something far more interior: faith expressed in love.” ~ Galatians 5:5-10 The Message (MSG)

That’s how I want to express myself. Faith expressed in love.

What about you?  In what ways do you express yourself? How does that show us who you really are?

“Self-expression must pass into communication for its fulfillment.” ~ Pearl S. Buck

©2015 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

4 responses

  1. Although I’m like you in that I love words, I’m not one for talking to others face to face. Telephones scare me, put me on the spot to say something, anything, and it usually comes out backwards. I like writing, but I also like baking to express my love to others. The way I keep my home is a way that I express myself; what I do, I do for them in love. Getting husband’s work clothes spick and span, neat with no wrinkles so he can go to work looking sharp is an expression of my love for him. I’m always looking for a way to do a random act of kindness to someone, to express my care for them. Great post Mama –

    Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

