Just keepin’ it real

blogIMG_4960Life.  Sometimes it gets in the way of our plans.

If you’re a steady reader of Mama’s Empty Nest, you may have noticed I’ve been on a writing hiatus for the last couple of weeks.  The evidence is a lack of written posts with only two Wordless Wednesdays showcasing a couple of my photographs instead.

The hiatus wasn’t intentional.  I didn’t just decide to take a break from blogging.  No, instead life happened.  Real life sometimes gets in the way of blogging life.  And you might just say, today I’m keeping it real.

As soon as this new year of blank pages arrived, my calendar started filling up with events and appointments and lists of things needing accomplishment the way life demands and…well, you get the picture.

Both weeks found me trotting off to school as I was scheduled to substitute teach two and a half days one week and two days the following week.  One week I taught middle schoolers everything from language arts to science and the next I subbed in learning support and worked non-stop with students from kindergarten through fifth grade in reading and math. 

But wait!  Just like the infomercials on TV, that’s not all!  Bible study resumed, so a lot of reading ensued and thought-provoking questions needed answering.  Several meetings also required my attendance and church activities increased because in a weak moment, I said yes.  Not just to one new obligation but two! 

I agreed to become a committee member for a church commission responsible for education of our children, teens, and adults and then because one of the Sunday School classes desperately needed a teacher, guess who is now also teaching young teens in 7th and 8th grade?  I mean who could turn down that opportunity when one of the young girl students specifically requested me?

So that meant acquiring curriculum, and checking it out thoroughly, preparing lessons, and because there’s that teacher side of me that insists a classroom should be just as stimulating as the lesson, I rearranged the dull-looking church room, added some visuals, and made plans to enhance the space more while spending way too much time on Pinterest looking for additional ideas.

In between all of that, home chores to accomplish, phone calls to return, friends to check on due to illnesses or just because they were going through a tough time, prayer chain requests to lift up to the Lord, and to be honest, a little worrying done over the safety of my world travelers (who, by the way, finally returned home safely from their three-week grand African adventure), and concern for the health of my pregnant daughter also grabbed my attention.

When it came to carving out time to sit down and write for my blog, I thought that either:  a.  I didn’t have time  or b.  I was just too weary/distracted/unmotivated to think coherently let alone write a decent sentence.   If I did snag a little block of time and sit down at the computer, I found myself just vegging out by scrolling through Facebook to see what I may have missed in the lives of friends and family instead of writing a blog post.  Yeah, I know….not a productive use of my time…but mindless which is what I needed I guess.

And that’s where I ran across this little gem.   If you’re addicted to social media in any way, you may find yourself taking these inane quizzes that pop up on your newsfeed.  You know the ones.  What flower are you?  Or what kind of house are you? Or what country are you? 

I usually pass by those but every once in a while I fall prey to one and succumb to taking the quiz.    I admit they are pretty ridiculous and random and I’m fairly certain the answers you get are random as well.  But occasionally, the results of one of those idiotic quizzes makes me think “Hmmm, that kind of does describe me.”

I know.  Silly. 

If you’ve read much of my writing, there is one thing I do think that stands out.  I do try to be genuine.  I attempt to be frank and authentic in my writing and I’ll use that buzz word that seemed to be making the rounds for a while – transparent.

In other words, I try to keep it real.

Well, wouldn’t you know it?  During this ‘off’ time away from writing blog posts, I answered one of those Facebook quizzes  named “What four-letter word best describes you?”  (That sounds a little risky, doesn’t it?) The resulting four-letter word could have been any one of these: hope, calm, kind, love, or real.

And this is what I got:  “REAL. You are a very sincere and honest human being. You’re very much in line with your values, and you always try to be a better person for yourself and for others. As a person with integrity, you are principled and you keep it real like no other. You don’t just talk the talk, you actually walk the walk every single day.”

While I’m not totally convinced that description really does fit me,  as a believer in Jesus I do strive to be the kind of person described in the above paragraph. So, I could explain my blogging world absence by saying I was taking time to concentrate on so many other areas of my life or that I was just so preoccupied with activities and events, I just couldn’t find time to write.

But you know what?  I’m keepin’ it real.  The truth is that my life is no busier than yours is.    And I’m certainly not perfect, nor do I lead a perfect life or keep a perfectly clean, tidy house.  The trash can is overflowing, dirty dishes are piled up in the sink that also needs a thorough scrubbing, and the carpet needs vacuumed. That’s reality. 

But the truth is sometimes I just don’t feel like doing it all.

So why didn’t I write anything during the last few weeks?  Here’s the truth.  I just didn’t feel like it.   And that’s keepin’ it real.

“The real things haven’t changed. It is still best to be honest and truthful; to make the most of what we have; to be happy with simple pleasures; and have courage when things go wrong.” ― Laura Ingalls Wilder

©2015 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

15 responses

  1. Oh I read this with great interest. I have been absent for a while since Dec 21 to be exact and tomorrow makes that a month.
    Sounds like a recharting of activities and of course, your two daughters pursuing their life goals have definitely occupied your mind. So good to hear from you always, the very real and genuine you. Have a great day and a wonderful week.

    Like

    • Recharting definitely takes place, doesn’t it? But your hiatus from blogging is making wonderful family memories and is so much more important. Do I miss you? Absolutely, but I do understand where you’re coming from. Thank you for the kind words, as always. They mean so much coming from a real and genuine friend.

      Like

  2. Cindy, you have always kept it real! That’s one thing I enjoy so much about you and your blog. I love this post! It shows such a caring thoughtful person. Willing to spend so much time helping and teaching others — what a gift. And what a gift for you that one girl specifically requested you as her teacher! 🙂 I’m not surprised. You do keep it real. And believe and support so many wonderful things. Best of luck balancing your time however you see fit. Writing, reading, praying, even taking those little quizzes. It’s all part of the whole, and adds up to make one very special person.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can relate – completely! Why do I fell compelled to write a blog post every day Monday through Friday? Sometimes it’s a chore, and I think my readers can tell. Perhaps I need to just focus on writing when I have something important to share…!
    Anyway, those little Facebook games are fun!

    Like

    • I know exactly what you mean, Dianna. When I first started this blog, I had a lot to say (words from all those years of not writing were just gushing out), so I blogged almost every day. Then I calmed down a bit and realized that realistically, it was easier for me to just blog three days a week. But as I gained more readers, I felt compelled (yes, I agree with you on that) to ‘deliver the goods’ regularly, so to speak. But I do get in these slumps where I just don’t feel like writing anything. Sometimes I just think we put too many expectations on ourselves!

      Like

  4. I’m finding some days, we just have to let it go. It’s impossible to do it all in the time span of a day, and maybe we’ll get to it tomorrow. The dishes in my sink and the unused vacuum cleaner will still be there in the morning. I’m impressed that you were requested to teach the 7th and 8th graders–by one of them. That says more about you than anything else.

    Liked by 1 person

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

