Thanks Giving: for musical reminders

blogthanksIt’s the last day of November and my 30 days of thanks giving have come to a close.  During this time, I’ve realized how very much of life I take for granted and my hope is that I will appreciate even the small aspects more as a result of contemplating gratitude for an entire month.

Christmas is coming and even though Thanksgiving is now past, thanks giving is not really over.  Not by a long shot.  I won’t blog every day about my gratefulness, but I’m certain I will continue to write about aspects I’m thankful for.  I do know I plan to take a few moments each day and express my thanks to my God since He is the Giver of my life and the One I turn to when circumstances aren’t exactly what I’d hoped.  He’s taught me so much through the passage of scripture that I call my guiding verses (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18) and I am so thankful.

As my attention turns to the upcoming Christmas season and preparation for our family celebration, I find myself thankful today for musical reminders.  I love Christmas music, I love the old Christmas movies, I love the decorations.  So it seems fitting on this last day of November before I transition from Thanksgiving to celebrating the birth of my Savior that I share a song from one of my favorite movies – Holiday Inn.  Bing Crosby sang it well when he sang “I’ve Got Plenty to Be Thankful For.”  

Click on the link below to listen to that song and join me in being thankful for the plenty in our lives.

“Reflect upon your present blessings of which every man has plenty, not on your misfortune, of which all men have some.” ~ Charles Dickens

I’ve Got Plenty To Be Thankful For

©2014 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

2 responses

  1. Holiday Inn and White Christmas are my two favorite movies to watch and Christmas doesn’t seem like Christmas if I miss watching them. Of course, being with family is the most precious thing of all. Even though we don’t know the exact date, I am so thankful the world pauses for at least one day to recognize the birth of our Lord and honor the One who gave His all that we might have hope of eternal life. May you and yours have a blessed holiday season and a wonderful new year (especially welcoming the new little lady coming in February).

    Like

    • Lana, I love both of those movies too. And a few more Christmas classics. But yes, I’m so glad we can be with family when we celebrate our Savior’s birth. By the way, the baby afghan for our new little lady was absolutely beautiful!! Thanks for commenting on my blog, my sweet friend. ❤ to you and yours!

      Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

