Thanks Giving: for the library

blogIMG_4377It’s almost become a standing date.  Me, Papa, and the public library.

We’re both readers.  When I was young, my mom always knew she could find me with my ‘nose in a book.’  And my husband – definitely a bookworm when he was a kid.  He still has his classic comics stashed away to prove it.  The shelves in our home sport way more books than knickknacks and I’m pretty certain boxes of various volumes we own are stored in our basement.

We do read a lot on our Kindle but both of us would rather roam through the stacks of books in a public library in search of a good read. I like turning the actual pages of a book in my hands and checking one out knowing I have a deadline to finish it by.

Libraries have always been one of my favorite places.  I like the quietness and hushed tones and the peace you find there.  When I walk into one, I’m happy to meander up and down the aisles reading book titles, looking for my favorite authors, or totally branching out and trying a book from a writer I don’t recognize. My dream would be to start in the fiction section with the letter A and read as many volumes as I could all the way through to Z. 

So a trip to the library a couple of Saturdays a month has become a kind of date for hubby and me. 

And I’m thankful for this thing we have in common, for public libraries, and a big tote bag in which to bring home my finds.  And the best part, it’s free.

“I have found the most valuable thing in my wallet is my library card.” –Laura Bush

©2014 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

 

8 responses

  1. What a fun date that is!!
    Reading your post reminded me of the very first time I went in a bookmobile (growing up in a very rural area, we had no libraries). It was summertime, and my (much) older sister, who was/is an avid reader, took me to the bookmobile when it first came around. I stlil recall the excitement of checking out books to read.

    Like

  2. Kudos Cindy! You have joined the ranks of true book worms, hanging out in the libraries of the world. It’s a far better thing you do than to order online for a Kindle. They have a place (especially for travel) but the real touchable books are more satisfying.

    Like

  3. Ever since I met you here, I have wanted to share how alike you are to one of my very best friends, and today’s post nailed that assumption. She is a retired librarian from our local school district. Your similar manner of speaking and writing and interests is really striking! She does not blog, or I would introduce you guys. J is one of the dearest friends I’ve ever had. So fun that you and your hubby has this same interest. We both love to read as well, although our tastes in books are a bit dissimilar. Should mention that my J’s influence is what got me do interested in reading again a few years ago, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my goodness, D, that’s amazing! We are meant to be friends, no doubt. 🙂 My hubby’s reading preferences are definitely different from mine too. He loves spy and historical novels, mysteries, and lots of non-fiction too. We usually head in separate directions once we’re inside the library.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Amen, sister!!! Love the library and am thankful so often for the part the library has played in my life my entire life! I have wonderful memories of going as a child, taking my own children and continuing the trend as an adult. Love this post. Thank you!

    Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

