Thanks Giving: for this man

blogIMG_4451

My husband, the Papa in this empty nest in which we live, has been my life companion for 37 years of marriage.  We dated for three years before we tied the knot, so I’ve known this man for 40 years.  And in these 40 years, I’ve learned a lot about him.  

He is and always will be a student of history.  I often think he may have missed his calling – he should have been a history teacher/professor.  He’s constantly reading, studying, learning about historical events, persons, and places.  If you perused his book shelves here in our home office, the titles in his collection attest to this interest of his.

One of his favorite things to do is visit museums and in our many years of marriage, we’ve walked through more than I can remember in various areas of our country.  Everything in such a place captivates my husband’s attention and he can be found reading almost every display card in an exhibit.  I, on the other hand, scan the exhibits for something that stands out and piques my interest, reading about that particular item, and then moving on.

I usually end of up at least one room ahead of my husband during our walk through a museum, sometimes even further ahead.  Last weekend, we used a Groupon for a two-for-one admittance into the Heinz History Center, an affiliate of the Smithsonian,  a place hubby has wanted to visit for quite some time now in our nearby city.  He enjoyed our afternoon there immensely, and as usual, he was always behind me while examining the exhibits.

I stopped periodically and waited for him to catch up with me,  and once I snapped this photo of him deeply involved in reading about one aspect of a display.  He didn’t even know I’d taken his picture.   It’s typical him in a museum – always captivated by something and always behind me.

And one more thing that’s also typical him is this:  he’s always behind me, no matter what happens, no matter the circumstances, this man always has my back.  He supports me, listens to me, encourages me, is my loyal and trusted friend as well as husband. That’s just one of the reasons why I love him so much.

And one of the reasons why I’m so thankful to walk through this life with this man.

“We are not put on earth for ourselves, but are placed here for each other. If you are there always for others, then in time of need, someone will be there for you.” ~ Theodore Reik

©2014 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

13 responses

  1. Sounds like you made an absolutely perfect choice all those years ago. Congratulations. I am on husband #2 bu this one’s a ‘keeper’. Like your husband, his interests are different from mine (his are anything mechanical/vehicle related; he should have stuck to engineering cars and motorcycles instead of going into teaching computer science) but I’ve learned a LOT from him (and, I like to think, he from me). He, too, always has my back and that makes him perfect, no matter what else! Good men ARE hard to find. You definitely lucked out!

    Like

  2. Well, we have the history husbands in common, too! I have the exact same experience in museums. History channel also gets a workout in our house. You are blessed to have such
    a good man to share life with. Lovely post!

    Like

  3. I would be like you….. museums don’t really hold my interest.
    Did you get caught taking that picture?….usually there’s a white-gloved curator waiting to reprimand anyone daring to take a picture!!!

    Like

  4. The last quote reminds me of something my mother used to tell us. “In order to have a friend is to be a friend.” Sounds like you have a good friend in marriage and interesting one, too. Perhaps I’ve already told you this. Rick and I have been married 37 years, also.

    Like

  5. Beautiful…all of it, the picture and the words! It always makes me so happy when I hear about a great love story. I too am married to an amazing man, pretty sure he’s the best in the whole world, but then I hear stories like yours, and I guess there just might be one or two more great men out there! 🙂
    May God Bless both of you with many more years together!

    Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

