Short on composition but not thoughts

blogIMG_0564

 

Texture:  n.  The appearance of a fabric resulting from the woven arrangement of its yarns or fibers. (definition from the American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language)

I didn’t have to search too far outside the world of our home office to capture this photo for this week’s photo challenge. I think this picture fits the definition, what say you?  

An old emerald green upholstered chair sits in the corner and it provided fodder for this challenge.  But it did more than that.  Yes, this old chair with the wooden arms and Queen Anne style legs, purchased at an estate auction 15 years ago for $12, prompts me to consider that word ‘texture’ as more than just a photo challenge, and I find I have something more to say about the idea.  But time is short today and many unfinished items still weigh down my to-do list.  And it’s rainy and frightfully dreary outside which just slows me down considerably.  I am in need of some sunshine for motivation!  

I hate to think I’m disappointing my readers – you know, those of you who visit Mama’s Empty Nest for more than just my photography (as amateur as it is) –  because I have been posting more photos and fewer words in the last few weeks.  But I hope to share my thoughts about texture on Thursday.   Of course tomorrow will be another photography day with my regular  Wordless Wednesday.   In the meantime, click on the photo above and check out that texture.

Linking up to the Weekly Photo Challenge: Texture today.

©2014 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

7 responses

  1. Sweet friend, I’m not disappointed at all. Sometimes we need to just step back from regular routine to take care of other necessary business in life, and that is a good thing, too. The thoughts will come when they are ready. 😉 Have a blessed day!

    Like

  2. Pingback: The fabric of my life | Mama's Empty Nest

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

