When it comes to hopping

I’m not much of a hopper.  I generally leap into something all the way with both feet or stand back and contemplate whether I really want to join in or not.  But today, I am hopping.

No, I’m not hopping mad.  Or hopping down the bunny trail (you have to be old enough to know Here Comes Peter Cottontail for that one).  Nor am I island hopping although the idea of that does sound grand… maybe I just need a vacation.

And I’m not hopping in my socks at the dance (sock hop) either, even though that sounds like fun.  Instead, today I’m blog hopping.  I was invited to participate in a blog hop (who knew there was such a thing?) for today.  My good friend and blogging buddy, Dianna, over at These Days of Mine asked me to join in.

The only requirement to join the blog hop is to answer four questions in a blog post and name, with their permission of course, three fellow bloggers to also answer the questions and post the following Monday.  I had no trouble answering the questions, but unfortunately, only one blogging friend was available to join the blog hop.  So head on over to D’s place at My Five F’s for her answers next week. (And thank you, D, for hopping with me!)

Here are the questions in bold, my answers in italics:

  • How does my creating process work? Many writers have a certain process they follow to start their creative juices flowing.  I’m not one of them.  I just write when I feel compelled to do so.  Usually something I see, hear, or read sparks my interest and sets my mind to writing a blog post.  Sometimes I’m composing it in my head before I even sit down at the computer.  Or I jot down the idea in a notebook to be revisited later.  What kind of things spark my creativity?  It could be a photograph I take or something as simple as looking at an everyday aspect of life in a different way.  Sometimes it’s a scripture I read or a quote that I come across or even one word that inspires me to write.   More times than not, I feel God leading me to write what I do.
     
  • How does my work differ from others of its genre? I’m not really certain that my work is that different from others but I do write straight from my heart, using my own voice and my own photographs.  My goal is to uplift and encourage and never tear down, so if I use sarcasm, it’s only in a joking way.  I think my writing style is conversational; I write like I talk.   Not to be too heavy or serious, yet not silly or frivolous either,  I aim for balance.  My purpose is to inspire and encourage my readers in some way and always to make my blog a warm and inviting place.  I like to imagine my reader and I are just sitting down with a cup of tea and having a nice chat.
  • What am I working on? Well, of course I work on my blog regularly and I take pictures a lot (I’m in love with my camera).  But I’m also working on a devotional book and –gasp! – I can’t believe I’m actually putting this ‘out there,’ but I’m writing a work of fiction.  It may never get published, who knows, but I’m having a lot of fun writing it.  I’ve never believed I was creative enough to write fiction and make up characters, plot, and all of that because I’ve always been a non-fiction writer (just the facts. ma’am), but the characters that are running around my imagination and now appearing on my computer screen have taken on a life of their own and are now telling me what to write.  A little scary, maybe? But definitely producing growth in me as a writer.
  • Why do I create what I do? Sometimes, it’s like I just need to get the words out.  I said it before and I’ll say it again – I feel compelled to do so.  It’s like a fountain of words just erupts from my heart and mind and gushes out all over the place.  When I first started my blog, I wrote for myself, to place the words that swirled around inside my brain into an orderly fashion so I could deal with them.  But now, several years later, I don’t just write for myself; my readers are always on my mind.  I love to encourage and uplift them by sharing my own experiences in hopes that what I write touches their hearts and gives them pause for thought.

So now you know a little bit more about me.  But let me thank you, my readers.  Because every time you hop on over here to my empty nest place, you make me happy enough to hop up and down excitedly.

“The writer catches the changes of his mind on the hop. Growth is exciting; growth is dynamic and alarming. Growth of the soul, growth of the mind.”   ~ British novelist Vita Sackville-West

©2014 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

 

8 responses

  1. Oh, I am excited about your works in progress! Sign me up for copies now, please! 😉 This was a great post, and I enjoyed reading about your own processes for writing. I also love your creative style, too. Great job!

    Like

  2. I’m so glad Dianna tagged you, and you said YES. I love visiting your blog and having a cup of tea with you. Non-fiction is what I do best, so it’s encouraging to know fiction can come from a non-fiction writer’s brain.

    Like

    • Thanks, Patti! Me too. It was fun and the questions really gave me pause to consider. Now, as far as that fiction coming from a non-fiction brain, I didn’t say that fiction was any good yet. Time will tell! 😉

      Like

  3. Fiction? How wonderful! That’s exciting to feel yourself stretched in a way you never thought would be.
    Thanks for this insight into your process but I think your readers knew one thing: you write from your heart, compelled by God’s love.

    Like

    • I know! Fiction? What a surprise…it’s probably not that good but it IS fun to write it (never thought I’d say that!). I sincerely do hope that my readers hear my ‘voice’ which does come from my heart and from the Lord. Thank you, Debby! ❤

      Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

