2/3 but who’s counting?

blogIMG_2825It was a full Easter weekend at Mama’s Empty Nest even if it was only 2/3 full. Notice I choose to view the nest 2/3 full instead of 1/3 empty since four of the six faraway loved ones flew (well, drove) back to the nest to celebrate Resurrection Day with us.

I confess that often I’m a bit envious of those families whose grown children live nearby them. They get to spend all holidays and even regular old every days together whenever they want. When our three were young, Papa and I lived far away from our families and we missed celebrating holidays often with them. And now, with our three strewn across three different states, I find myself in the same predicament.  

Our grown up girls and their spouses managed days off and long drives to spend some good quality family time together with us this Easter weekend. Since we haven’t been together as a family since Christmas, it truly was cause for celebration even though son and daughter-in-law would not be here.

We talked and we ate. We laughed, we ate. We played games, we ate. The girls made Easter favors; the guys helped Papa drag out the outdoor furniture and then had their usual target practice. And did I mention we ate? We curled up in the family room and watched “Saving Mr. Banks” together and we ate some more. And then we celebrated our Savior’s victory over death at our church where Papa and I were narrators for the Easter Cantata.

What a glorious weekend! Even the weather cooperated and we enjoyed two sunshine-filled warm days. We broke out the ladder golf game and ate lunch outside on the back yard deck.

All too soon, time arrived for them to leave and drive back to those other states where they reside. Papa and I stood on the deck waving goodbye as each car pulled out of our driveway. We walked back into our quiet home and started cleaning up the kitchen, loading the dishwasher, tidying up.

Afterwards, we plunked down in our usual spots in the empty family room. Papa fired up the laptop; Mama turned on the TV to watch The Amazing Race. But our day of joy wasn’t over yet. The phone rang and our empty nest felt complete when we heard our son’s voice wishing us a Happy Easter.

Family love fills my tank. Time spent together is the fuel, whether it’s in person or on the phone. And believe it or not, life is full in our nest even when it’s empty.

“Circumstances and situations do color life, but you have been given the mind to choose what the color shall be.” ~ John Homer Miller

©2014 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

blogcollage

10 responses

    • It’s a crazy game called ladder golf where you throw golf balls on a rope and try to ring them around rungs on the ‘ladder’ to earn points. It’s also been called ‘hillbilly golf.’ 😉 Do see Saving Mr. Banks — we all liked it!

      Like

  1. I totally agree – family fills my tank too. So happy you got to see or hear from all your family, and looks like you took advantage of the beautiful weather. So hard when they live away, but the bright spot is that now you have three vacation destinations. Happy Spring !!!!

    Like

  2. Such a mother — I noticed everybody got equal time in the photos! 😉 I am so happy for you to have shared such a special time with your kids. Now I want to go wake mine up to hug them!

    Like

  3. Your family is beautiful, and I’m so glad you had such a wonderful Easter with them! We take ladderball with us on every RV trip, as it is such a fun game, especially when we go with another couple and can play as teams. Just don’t throw it too high and get it stuck really high up in a pine tree. Don’t ask me how I know that, but Wally World sells replacements, just in case. haha 😉

    Like

    • Aw, thank you, D! You only got to see 2/3 of them in my Easter photos, but I’ll be posting pics of our son and daughter-in-law soon. We just spent a weekend visiting them and had such a great time. Oh, I’m glad you knew what ladderball (or as we call it, ladder golf) is! Some of my readers were confused about it, I think. Ha – we haven’t gotten them stuck in a tree yet but it’s good to know we can get replacements. By the way, my hubby made our game with PVC pipes, rope and colored golf balls.

      Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

