Are you kidding me?

 

Can you believe it??

Can you believe it??

Well, stick a fork in me and call me done. Done with winter that is! It’s unreal that it snowed AGAIN and this time we received about 18 inches of snow! So much snow, we could hardly get the cars out of the garage this morning. And hubby had to shovel a path to get my car out so he could maneuver the bright green John Deere garden tractor with the jaunty yellow snow plow attached on it out of the garage to dig out the driveway.

What?? How could this be? It’s April for crying out loud!!

It sure is. April Fool’s Day to be exact. When our three offspring were youngsters, they used to try to fool Papa and me with cute little jokes or pranks. “Mom, there’s a spider on your head!” one would cry at breakfast. And I would give my best performance of shrieking and making frantic motions through my hair to flick that ‘spider’ off. A peal of laughter would ensue and the kids would yell, “April Fools!”

Fun stuff. At least it was back then. Some years I would prank them first. And we would laugh and continue on our merry way for the day. There’s something about April Fools, even if the jokes don’t come off quite right, that brightens our outlook. Maybe it’s because we’re shedding a long, winter season and the lightheartedness of April Fools Day puts us in the mood for spring.

And this year, we are SO ready for spring! Which reminds me….that first paragraph I wrote up there at the beginning of this post and that picture? April Fools!!  The photo is from February 2010 when we really did get 18 inches or more of the white stuff.  Yesterday we did NOT get any snow and it was a most spring-like sunny day with temps near 60 degrees. Finally!

So Happy April Fool’s Day! I hope I didn’t fool you so much that you believed my little prank, but I do hope you’re on your way to better weather with a spring in your step and a smile on your face.  And that’s the truth.

“There are two ways to be fooled. One is to believe what isn’t true; the other is to refuse to believe what is true.” ― Soren Kierkegaard

©2014 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

18 responses

  1. My firstborn was due April 1. My mother affectionately called him our “little April Fool”. Matt had the best prank for all of us–he arrived 3 weeks early!

    Like

  2. You got me…but I kinda wondered. I talked to my sister in the Washington DC area last night who had shoveled snow last Tuesday. I asked if this Tuesday was better. “Oh, goodness, yes” was her answer. So I was just wondrin’ but still, you got me.

    Like

    • We actually did have some snow Sunday, believe it or not. About an inch covered the ground when we woke up. It’s just been a crazy long winter so I knew my readers might believe my ‘tall tale’ for April Fools Day. 😉

      Like

  3. Well, I believed it, and was feeling sorry for you, because my April 1st was full of sunshine 🙂
    Glad the joke was on us, and not on you!
    Have a wonderful week….

    Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

