One of these things is not like the other

blogIMG_2562Juxtaposition – two things being seen or placed close together with contrasting effect.

Snow.  Winter.  In my neck of the woods, the two things usually go together like bread and butter, peanut butter and jelly, toast and jam.  If I’m on a roll here naming things to eat, it’s because it is winter.  It’s absolutely freezing cold and eating enough calories to keep our body temperature at a level to keep us warm seems to be what we tend to do during this season just like squirrels storing up all of the acorns.  Although, I’m sure I have plenty of ‘acorns’ to spare in that department.

My point is though that snow and winter are not a contrasting effect here.  There’s nothing juxtaposing about the two.  But this post isn’t really about the weather, although winter is the backdrop.  The scene.

Here at Mama’s Empty Nest, we’ve been living in a snow globe.  Snow has been our steady diet of weather phenomena since November.  And I’m not complaining because truthfully, I like cold weather and I really dislike a winter season with little or no snow.

So no complaints here.  This past weekend, snow just kept coming.  All day Saturday, it fell in heavy blankets.  Since we didn’t have anywhere pressing to go, hubby and I just stayed inside and watched it snow and snow and snow in between rearranging furniture in our home office.

Sunday morning we woke up to vivid sunshine which lasted for oh…about a minute…then it started to snow again.  Snowed on the way to church.  Snowed on the way out of church.  Luckily, we have all-wheel drive vehicles so we were able to maneuver our way out and back into our steep driveway, which tends to drift shut if we don’t put up a snow fence (but that’s another story).   However, as our hard-working highway department trucks plow and salt the road which goes past our home to make our highways and byways passable, the entrance to our driveway gets piled up high with snow from those huge snow blades.

blogIMG_2552So hubby bundled up in his warm coveralls, boots, hat and gloves and jumped on our John Deere lawn and garden tractor and started plowing out our drive.  I watched him from the window for a while, then decided to grab my camera and step out onto the front porch to try out my brand new zoom lens which my children and their spouses gifted to me for Christmas.

I started snapping away, zooming in and zooming out, playing around with my lens, and using hubby and his snow plowing tractor as the focus of my shots.

And then I heard it.  A distinctive sound.  Loud.  Roaring.  Definitely headed in our direction.  A steady scraping that signaled one thing and one thing only.  The highway plow truck was coming.

blogIMG_2561I kept snapping pictures of it as it loomed closer to where my husband was plowing with what now looked like a pitifully small tractor.  Side by side the two totally different snow plowing vehicles seemed very mismatched, one definitely dwarfing the other. Then the larger one overtook the smaller and with a friendly wave from the driver, moved on past.   Leaving more snow for hubby to shove off our driveway, by the way.

As I uploaded the photos onto my computer, it hit me.  Juxtaposition.  Right in front of my eyes.  Which just so happens to be this week’s photo challenge.

I realized I had been at the right place at just the right time to capture it.  And my telephoto lens was just the right equipment.  That small tractor and snow blade may not be the best equipment compared to the highway snow plow, but it gets the job done.

“You have to be there at the right time and you’ve got to be equipped.”  ~ William Hastie

©2014 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

10 responses

  1. Oh. My. Goodness. Nothing here. Was 60 yesterday, and 6 today. Up and down all month long – but dry, terribly dry. And fiercely windy. It’s a nice winter to be at home :).

    Like

  2. 60??!! And 6 today?? Crazy, crazy, crazy. As I said we’ve had a steady diet of snow and cold. Supposed to get down to near zero again tomorrow. Windy enough to set off snow squalls in the yard and another strange phenomena – snow rollers. I ventured out to take photos of them (almost froze my face off) and am planning to post them on Weds.

    Like

    • I do! Especially as I’ve been a bit mute lately in the blog writing mode. I keep saying maybe my brain is frozen from all the cold weather we’re having. Hope you are all staying warm and safe down there in this unusual weather you’re having!

      Like

      • Can you believe it? Another snow and ice day with closures everywhere.
        I commented to my husband about your husband’s John Deere snow plow that looks like a lawn mower with a snow plow attachment…love the distinctive green tractor and yellow plow. Perhaps snow plowing isn’t so bad if you can have a big toy to help do the job.

        Like

      • Our John Deere tractor is a lawn and garden tractor, so the mower deck gets attached in the spring and the snow plow in late fall. But you know what it’s like with men and their toys, my hubby would like a larger tractor and bigger snow plow! 😉

        Like

  3. WOW!! What a perfect photo op for this challenge! We’re supposed to get snow tomorrow: 2-6 inches — maybe more, maybe less. The weather folks are always incapable of predicting our snowfall amounts. But, the child in me still gets excited about snow, and thankfully, now I don’t HAVE to drive in it. (I still worry about those who do, though…)

    Like

    • I know! I just couldn’t believe it when I looked back over the photos. Perfect timing it seemed! The weather folks don’t always get their predictions correct up here either. Glad you don’t have to drive in the snow but can stay home and enjoy it. I bet you’re going to get some beautiful pictures. 🙂

      Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

