Habit forming

blogIMG_2103I have a confession.  I am a creature of habit. 

For almost 14 years, I have lived in the same house.  That’s a milestone in itself because it’s the longest Papa and I have lived anywhere during our 36 year marriage.  We moved 11 times in the first 22 years of our marriage but have been stationary these last 14.

What comes with the territory of being stationary?  Habits.  That’s the topic of this week’s photo challenge.  We all own habits, some beneficial, some not so much.  So we all are creatures of habit in some way.  I don’t suppose there is anyone out there who is totally different and spontaneous every single day.  If you are such a creature, please tell me how you accomplish that.

Because me…I am habitual.  There are certain things I do each day – every day.  I could make a list for you of those items but that would be one of my habits because yes, I am one of those people who always make lists.  See, it’s habitual!

So this photo challenge caused me to ponder as it always seems to do.  What should I capture that depicts ‘habit?’  It could be my morning cup of tea.  With me, that’s routine. Each morning I can’t seem to function without my mug of steaming hot tea.  But tea has health benefits so I’m deeming that a good habit.

I could have taken a photo of my computer.  Don’t get me started on what a habit it has become.  Rarely a day goes by that I haven’t logged into it for a portion of the time.  Good habit?  Sometimes.  Bad habit?  When it occupies too much of my time.  Along with the computer comes social media.  Addictive use of time?  Yes, but one that I’ve diminished considerably.

I don’t smoke.  I don’t drink alcohol or even coffee.  So I can’t claim those as habits.  I do have a persistent yen for sugar though.  I know, that’s not a good healthy habit.  I take my daily doses of a multi-vitamin and vitamin D as my doctor prescribed, a worth-while habit.

Every day I work at least one crossword puzzle to keep my brain trained and my memory working well.  Habit?  Yes, but a beneficial one.

So….habits….I have many.  But I opted to picture the one thing I do every single day around the same time of day.  The first thing I do after I awaken is open our bedroom window blinds and look outside.  Is the sun shining?  Is it raining?  Is it a blue sky-filled day or dreary and overcast?  Is there snow on the ground?  Deer in the yard?  Opening my window blinds gives me a birds-eye view of my world and what’s happening.

I find it sets the stage for the rest of my day.  If the sun is shining and cottony puffs of clouds dot the blue horizon of sky, I feel happy.  If my view unveils angry-looking stormy cloud cover, I feel grouchy and cranky.  If it’s bleak and dismally overcast outside my window, I feel downcast and lackluster myself.  And if you read my post the other day, you already know that if there’s snow blanketing the ground or fluttering through the air, I’m excited.

The window to my world seems to mirror the window of my disposition for the day.  I’m working on that habit.  I’m attempting to awaken each day with joy in my heart regardless of the picture outside my window. I hope it’s habit-forming.  

“The habits of life form the soul, and the soul forms the countenance.” ~ Honore de Balzac

©2013 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

13 responses

  1. When you wrote of living in the same house for 14 years the first thing that came to mind was the amount of things one accumulates during such a time. And yes, habits, the same drive to the grocery stores, and other frequented places. Sometimes I drive home and don’t remember driving past certain places on the way. My mind is on auto-drive from the habit of driving the same streets and pulling into the same driveway.

    Like

  2. Hi Cindy – When I started teaching in the early 70s, I developed the habit of reading while I eat. I can’t think of the last time I ate without reading (except for when I’m with someone else). It’s caused me to gain weight because I want to keep reading which means I keep eating. I really need to break that habit!

    Like

    • Hi Don!! Eating while you read, huh? I know some other people with that habit (even when they are with someone else!). Never thought about the weight gain aspect of it but with all the hiking you do, I’m having a hard time believing you gain a pound. Anyway, good to hear from you! I always enjoy your great sense of humor and your Facebook statuses really crack me up! 😀

      Like

  3. Enjoyed your post and had to chuckle at the fact that we have now lived in our home for over 28 years and how I will one day dread going through everything we have stashed around here. It also made me think of the habits I now have as a result of living in our home for so long, too. Wonderful reflection!

    Like

    • Thank you! I appreciate your stopping by and commenting so very much! I’m glad you enjoyed my post. Oh yes, living in the same house for many years does bring about a huge accumulation of ‘stuff” whether it’s possessions or habits, doesn’t it? My parents lived in the same home for almost 50 years. After they both passed away and we had to clean out their house, we were amazed at all the things they had kept over those years.

      Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

