A magical event

blogIMG_2049A beautiful sight.  That’s what some think while others moan and groan about it. Either you love it or hate it.

It’s the first snow fall of the season.  The weatherman warned us; he indicated Suzy Snowflake was dancing our way, tiptoeing as she traveled, dusting areas north of us and whirling and twirling into our area.

Last night I stayed up late. An intriguing and interesting good read held me in its grasp and I yearned to finally turn the last page to learn how it ended.  Already snuggled in, Papa was asleep. 

On my way to call it a night, I extinguished the house lights but before I went upstairs, I opened the front door and peered into the midnight darkness.  Was that white I spied beginning to cover the sidewalk?  I flipped on the porch light and saw Suzy and her cohorts dancing in the air and daintily lighting on the ground.

There truly is something magical about the first snow of the season, at least to me.  As a kid, I remember getting so excited when snow fell.  I couldn’t wait to bundle up with scarves, hats, mittens, boots, and leggings to run outside and play in the snow.

Even as an adult, it still thrills me.  Snow calls to me, “Come outside! It’s a wintry fairyland out here.  Hurry before I melt!”  I love to feel it brush against my cheek as it snows.  I love to watch it glittering in the sunlight.  I love to see how it transforms a bleak landscape of barren trees into a frosted wonderland.

The first thing I do every morning is open our bedroom window blinds and look outside to see what’s happening.  This morning the first snow fall greeted me.  I couldn’t wait to throw on some clothes and shoes, grab my camera, and head outside.

Later, as I spoke with an older friend on the phone she commented, “It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas.”  And I wondered if maybe that’s why snow excites me so much.  It serves as a herald trumpeting in the idea that Christmas is on its way, it’s just around the corner.

Whatever the reason, I love the snow.  It’s true that by the time February and March arrive, I’m ready for the snow to leave and spring to make its way known.  But I will enjoy the season of snow.  I will stop and take time to examine the beauty of it and yes, in this season of thankfulness, I will be grateful for that blanket of white.

I hope you enjoy my photos taken this morning when I ran outside to capture this magical event.  Tomorrow I’ll post more for Wordless Wednesday.

“The first fall of snow is not only an event, it is a magical event. You go to bed in one kind of a world and wake up in another quite different, and if this is not enchantment then where is it to be found?” ~ J. B. Priestley

©2013 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

blogIMG_2077  

blogIMG_2092

10 responses

  1. I feel the same way!! Although I worry more with the hubby driving so far in it sometimes, I can’t help loving it. I’m ready for it to be done when we’re still getting it in April, but its so beautiful, I forgive it every time.

    Like

    • I knew you’d be saying that!! But it’s good and sunny today so the snow is melting fast…almost gone except for the shady parts of the yard. There will be more and I know you’ll get your share too. Patience…patience…patience – LOL!!

      Like

  2. I always love the first snowfall to–and many of the following ones too!. There is just something sparkly and wonderful about it, especially when it is the big, huge floaty type snowflakes. I must add, though, when some of the first signs of each season start happening. For instance, when the daffodils and crocuses pop up and the flowering trees begin to bloom, I am thrilled. When the corn starts to grow in the summer and the sun stays up nice and late, I love it. when the leaves turn colors in the fall I am frequently moved to tears at the beauty.
    Believe it or not, even in the part of Arizona I live in, we do get seasons. They are different than in the north, and different even than northern Arizona. But oh my, like glittering specks of gold in an hourglass, the seasons flow. It is a beautiful thing. I LOVE what you wrote about winter and snowfalls. They are miraculous magic.

    Like

    • I’m right there with you. I do love the change of seasons and seeing what each one brings. But summer with its heat and humidity is my least favorite. My sister & brother-in-law travel to your state for the winter months from their home in OK and they sure love it there.

      Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

