On the horizon

blogIMG_1972

 “The health of the eye seems to demand a horizon. We are never tired, so long as we can see far enough.” ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

This week’s photo challenge is “horizon.”  Last week, I posted a photo on my usual Wordless Wednesday that could definitely represent this photo category.  On a jaunt around my neck of the woods searching for images to captivate with my camera, I came upon that cornfield stretching as far as my eye could see.  The day was framed with blue skies and abundant sunshine.  Traveling on a side road, I drove up a small knoll and that picture awaited and begged me to capture it.  I think it does personify the photo challenge since as far as my eye could see, that cornfield was my horizon at least from my vantage point that day.

But today, I combed through photos taken last Saturday when my husband and I ventured into our nearby city and several of those also lent themselves well to this photographic category.  And as always, this photo challenge caused me to contemplate and examine how I could apply that term horizon to life. 

Since my husband and I live daily in the empty nest, we have some spare time on our hands.  Those fall weekend hours that used to be spent on sports fields watching our kids compete are now involved in chores, home repairs, or yard work.  But we like to escape the same old hum-drum of life every now and again. 

Since my husband did not grow up here in our area and he is an ardent history buff, he has a list a mile long of historical sights and museums he would enjoy visiting.  Broaden our horizons, so to speak.  So off we trotted to one of our city’s historical sights.  Hubby delighted in visiting the museum and reading all the placards.  I found my hey-day shooting tons of photos.  It was a win-win situation for both of us.

As we wandered through the park along one of our three rivers, I couldn’t help but be captivated by looking up at the horizon, which happened to be the summit of hilly landscape where several houses and buildings perch.  What a view from there!  I’ve been to the top of that horizon and seen that view for myself.  It is breathtaking especially at night when you behold the bedazzling lights of the city from there.

You can travel up to that horizon and back down this cliff side by riding on the incline as pictured in my photo. Gazing at the horizon is awe-inspiring.  But as in all aspects of life, we need to find balance.  If we only keep our eyes fixed to the horizon, we miss some amazing sights right around us. 

It’s kind of like a ‘take time to smell the roses’ thing.  Setting your sights on the horizon is a worthy goal but I want to enjoy the journey on the way there.

Live your life each day as you would climb a mountain. An occasional glance toward the summit keeps the goal in mind, but many beautiful scenes are to be observed from each new vantage point. Climb slowly, steadily, enjoying each passing moment; and the view from the summit will serve as a fitting climax for the journey.” ~ Harold B. Melchart

©2013 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

8 responses

  1. Western PA has such steep inclines. It’s breathtaking to catch them, to see what’s up, down and around the curves. Here in TX where a great part of it except the Hill Country and Davis Mountains, is very flat, I love your take “on the horizon.”

    Like

    • We do have our hills and curvy roads here, that’s for sure. Since I was born and raised here in the woodsy, hilly country, I can remember when hubby and I landed in the flat lands of Oklahoma for a few years early in our marriage. That prairie stretched out as far as the eye could see kinda scared me a little. :-O

      Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

