Take two weekends and call me in the morning

blogIMG_1798

A spot of joy at my doorstep

A great power lies within each of us.  We often unknowingly summon up this power without even intending to and we brandish it on others without realizing the damage it can inflict.

We wield this power in our words and actions like a sharpened sword honed to slice and sever, segment and separate.  It is the power to hurt another human being.

When I am profoundly hurt, I tend to retreat.  Being confrontational is not in my comfort zone so unless I’m backed into a corner with no escape possible, I will not choose to strike back. 

And even though I’m not an ‘in your face’ kind of person, I do wear my emotions on my sleeve; my heart is laid bare for all to see.  Those around me will perceive that I’ve been hurt or made angry.

When those times come, I automatically seek the One who sustains me – my Savior Jesus.  I cry out to Him in prayer and through His Word.  Next, I seek comfort in the arms of my family and closest friends.

And I also write from my heart in this blog. 

“Live your life from your heart. Share from your heart. And your story will touch and heal people’s souls.” – Melody Beattie

Writing is one of the ways I process events and emotions and try to perhaps encourage others who may be enduring the same unsettling feelings that I am.  So it hurts twice as much if my own written words are used against me.

A void exists now where there once was something I cared deeply about.   And that  hurts.  And to compound the pain, I felt that my words and actions were misinterpreted and misjudged adding more fuel to the firestorm.

English writer C.K. Chesterton once wrote:  “The injured party does not want to be compensated because he has been wronged; he wants to be healed because he has been hurt.”

I couldn’t agree with that statement more.  Compensation is not what I long for nor is it what I truly need.  What my heart needs is healing.

I made strides in moving forward from being hurt to being healed because even though I may have been hurt, I will not wallow in self-pity.  It’s just not in my character nor is it what I desire to do.    Healing does take time though, but I’ve got a good start which I can attribute to much prayer, my loving family, and my treasured friends. 

My healing began two weekends ago when joy was delivered to my front door.  First to appear was a lovely flower arrangement dressed in the happiest (and my favorite) color of yellow from a most cherished far away friend.  The second helping of joy arrived when oldest daughter and son-in-law traveled here to spend the weekend with hubby and me.

blogIMG_1823We talked, we laughed, we ate nourishing home-cooked food around the kitchen table, and we enjoyed an afternoon outing in beautiful fall weather. 

Saturday night, the four of us gathered around a warm, toasty outdoor fire.  We experienced something mesmerizing and soothing as we breathed in crisp, cool night air saturated with the smell of wood smoke; gazed at the star-studded sky (and identified constellations via son-in-law’s iPhone); and sipped hot apple cider.  

We worshiped together on Sunday morning at our family church and after our ‘kids’ departed, my husband and I visited our 96-year-old family friend who recently suffered a stroke.  Her happiness from our visit and the little surprise we brought her did wonders for my aching spirit. 

This past weekend, my wounded heart rejoiced yet again when my husband and I got to spend time with son and daughter-in-law.   Talking with friends and family also proved to be just what I needed.  

Yesterday more joy came to visit.  My middle daughter arrived just to spend a few days with Mom.  We spent most of this morning curled up in the family room just talking and talking, reminiscing about days past, and looking forward to the future.

“The words of kindness are more healing to a drooping heart than balm or honey.” ~Sarah Fielding

It was just what I imagine the Good Doctor would order for healing of the heart.  As we head into another weekend, I can honestly say this treatment is working.

“Gracious words are a honeycomb, sweet to the soul and healing to the bones.” – Proverbs 16:23-25

©2013 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

16 responses

  1. I’m sorry that you’ve been going through some bothersome times. But it sounds as though your family and friends are right where they should be: with you and helping you through this rough patch!

    Like

  2. The Lord knows just what we need and exactly when we need it. He sends his angels to minister to us. I suppose that looks like flowers delivered to our door from far away friends, and ‘children’ visiting us just when we need to have them near us. Of course, all of this coupled with our cries to the Lord and saturating our minds with His Word work together to heal our hearts and souls. Thank you, dear one, for sharing your heart here with all of us. Still praying for your continued healing. May the Lord bless you and keep you and cause His face to shine upon you! Be blessed today! Also, I was encouraged by these words this week. Do not fear…. for I have overcome the world! As we love and obey the Lord He is IN us! what beloved promises from our Lord…
    Love and hugs to you, sister!

    Like

    • When the rough times come (and they sure do, don’t they?), I often wonder how people of no faith make it through. My faith, like yours, is such an anchor, I can’t imagine being without it. Thank you for your so very encouraging words, dear sister friend, and your prayers. I know you can identify with what I’m going through and it helps to have someone who understands. Sending much love and hugs right back at you even across the thousands of miles. 🙂

      Like

  3. Cindy, your words were so very encouraging to me. Like you I tend to retreat when injured. My first thoughts (my human nature) is to strike back , but I endeavor to be more Christlike and pray for a forgiving attitude. I love the Chesterton quote…it hits the nail right on the head. Love you

    Like

    • I know just what you mean Toni. Our human nature is so strong and that urge to strike back and hurt someone as much as he/she hurt you jumps on the defense. It’s so hard to fight that urge, but fight we must. I struggle mightily with that and it encourages me to see I’m not alone in that struggle. Love you back, dear lady and miss you too!!

      Like

  4. I cannot imagine how you could ever say something another would take as anything but encouraging or uplifting. I do like your cure for the hurting heart. We must have the same doctor 😉 And Chesterton? Oh, that man could talk! Your words today show your tender heart that is also strong because your foundation is not shaken. Sending word hugs to you and prayers. xo

    Like

    • Debby, you are such a kind and encouraging friend. Thank you for your uplifting words, hugs and prayers. They mean the world to me. I’m so thankful the Lord caused our blogging paths to cross. Please know I’m praying for your family too as you grieve. This part of our journey as we say goodbye to parents is not easy but the joy of knowing we will see them in Glory gives such comfort, doesn’t it?

      Like

  5. I think one of the most wonderful things about blogging is that not only does it give us an outlet and methodology for processing what is in our hearts, for encouraging others, for working through our experiences and sharing them, but it also gives us a window into each others’ hearts, minds, and souls. You are such a wonderful person, look at how you share your faith and approach to life. I am grateful to God that He leads you to write. You see, it is easy for me to think that no one approaches life like I do. When I mistakenly think that, and then read what you write (and what you wrote here) I realize I am so very wrong. You see, your approach, your reaction to hurt, your approach to refusing to let sorrow embitter you, those are things that we share and hold in common. OUr faith, our precious God continues to bless us. I thank you for your words~ and I am grateful that you had back to back weekends filled with love and restorative times.

    Like

    • Your comment really blesses me today. I do write, maybe sometimes a little too transparently, to process what’s in my heart but also to show others that they are not alone in their struggles. And yes, God does lead me to write much of what I share. My hope is that it will lead someone to Him through my blog posts. What was difficult for me (and still is) is that my words in one of my posts were used against me and that’s why I no longer have my part-time job. But I know God is sovereign and His words will not return void. And I have so many believing friends and family who have given me support and love that it does help to restore my heart. 🙂

      Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

