Not my usual point of view

blogIMG_1770“A thing of beauty is a joy forever: its loveliness increases; it will never pass into nothingness.” ~ John Keats

I’m usually drawn to beautiful photographs be they light and color exploding into sunrises at dawn or weaving their way out of sight at sunset; a majestic animal in motion; scenery portraying the glorious aspects of nature, or a stunning array of vibrant color in flowers.  As a very amateur photographer, I tend to aim my camera at such things because they are treats for my eyes and balm for my soul.

Those aspects of our world just seem to speak of God to me.  After all, they are all His creations and He intended for us to delight in them. 

“In all ranks of life the human heart yearns for the beautiful; and the beautiful things that God makes are his gift to all alike.” ~ Harriet Beecher Stowe

It seems to me that there is so much ugliness in our world, most of it man-made of our own design, whether it is the filth of garbage we physically make or the foulness we willingly spew at our fellow humankind.  That’s probably another reason why my eye and my heart seek the lovely things to photograph.

So this week’s WordPress photo challenge, Unusual Point of View, proved to be a challenge for me.  I’ve pondered over it for several days.  How would I interpret this?  I looked over my cache of photos, and while some might be considered unique, from my point of view, they are not unusual.  No, they were the typical fare on Mama’s Empty Nest because they fit that mold of being lovely in some way or other.

And a realization came over me.  An unusual point of view for me would be to photograph something ugly.  Something unsightly.  Something that I wouldn’t spend too much time poring over because it didn’t provide a feast for my soul.

Hubby and I have been away from home for a few days caring for our daughter while she recovers from her recent surgery and helping out son-in-law since he had his plate full beginning his new job.   In our absence, something changed right in our very own yard.

I spied this while driving down my driveway yesterday on my way home from work.  Before we left last week, a few toadstools had sprouted in our yard.  They were fairly large and creamy white appearing very out of place in the expanse of emerald green grass.

Today they are hideous.  They are rotting.  Dark brown, covered with flaky, molting spots, those fungi are anything but beautiful to me.  So I pulled out my camera because these are photos I wouldn’t normally take.  These are photos that I don’t find uplifting and pleasant. 

And that is an unusual point of view for me because I normally strive to find “…whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable – if anything is excellent or praiseworthy – think about such things.”  (Philippians 4:8)

But the ugliness certainly makes me appreciate the lovely so much more.

©2013 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

blogIMG_1771

7 responses

  1. Great job, Cindy! I like your ugly photos. And actually — they don’t even seem ugly to me. I see you down on the wet grass, smelling the earth — I think you couldn’t help it and still found something beautiful, even if you didn’t know it. 🙂 We had a bunch of white mushrooms pop up in our yard the other day, much to the kids’ delight. They were fascinated, as it seemed as if the little fungi sprouted overnight. Then my son took to kicking the tops off and the air filled with giggles. So that’s what I see when I look at your photos — you still found something beautiful, and you also found a new point of view.

    Like

    • I always love your point of view, my friend! Yes, I was down there in the wet grass, smelling the earth…and struggling to get back up again! Ha! Thank you for helping me see the beautiful even in the ugly. Your story of your son kicking off the tops of the toadstools reminded me when my son used to do the same thing.

      Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

