Weekly Photo Challenge: Carefree

blogIMG_2416

“That’s what life is about. Those moments when you feel entirely carefree, like nothing can touch you.  It’s those moments that make the hard parts so worth it. It’s moments like that that make heartache bearable. I know it’ll pass – my moments will come.” ~ Anonymous

When the word ‘carefree’ comes to my mind, the thought of being young immediately follows.  But you certainly don’t have to be young to feel carefree.  Maybe that’s what’s wrong with our view of the world as adults.  We don’t embrace being carefree.

Untroubled.  Relaxed.  Cheerful.  Lighthearted.  Maybe even happy-go-lucky.  Those feelings are associated with being carefree.  When I remember the times  I’ve embraced these attitudes the most, they were often beside a moving body of water.

Sit me on the beach beside the roaring ocean and all those impressions of being carefree embody me.  Just hearing the waves crash and watching their ebb and flow calms my spirit like a balm to my soul.  And I totally relax.

Likewise, a rushing woodsy stream produces the same effect for me.  When I was a kid, my parents owned what we called a ‘camp’ near our state forest.  Some of the most lighthearted and carefree times I can remember there were when my friends and I hiked through the woods to sit by the side of a chilled,  brisk stream of water rushing along the rocks.  We would stretch out on the nearest large boulder, shed our socks and shoes, and wade into the water so frigid and so refreshing on a hot, summer’s day, that we gasped out loud and shrieked with delight.

That’s why as I searched for photos that embodied ‘carefree’ for me, I kept returning to this photo, which I actually did not take myself.  It belongs to my middle daughter, who has been facing some trying times lately with physical pain.  So my hope for today is that this post reminds her of those times she felt carefree.  And knowing she will feel that way once again.

©2013 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

2 responses

  1. I love this photo and your inspirational words. I’m sure your daughter will too and it will help her remember carefree moments that will return.
    My carefree times were always at the beach or lying in the grass looking up at the sky. We can repeat those feelings as adults. Why not?

    Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

