Sign of my times

“Signs, Signs, Everywhere there’s signs.
Blocking out the scenery. Breaking my mind.
Do this! Don’t do that! Can’t you read the signs?”

When I recently read that this week’s Word Press photo challenge was ‘the sign says,’ these lyrics immediately came to mind.  Yes, it’s an old song from my youth, but the lyrics still ring true.

Signs are everywhere we look.  Street signs, signs on buildings, signs saying “do this,” signs saying “stay out,” and billboards blocking the scenery dot our world.  The only thing that’s changed since I was a kid and that song was popular is that many of those signs are now digital advertisements.

I have a few pictures of signs in my growing photography collection, but three in particular, taken during separate excursions hubby and I took, prove photo challenge worthy  at least in my opinion. 

blogDSCN9628I shot this first photo on July 4, 2012 during a visit to Fort Ligonier, Pennsylvania, which was a British fortification during the French and Indian War.  

While there, you can learn a lot about our first President, George Washington, and his early military career, and you can view his saddle pistols and a journal of his own handwriting.

When I first spotted this sign on the way into the site, I had to think about it for a second, and then its witty meaning finally dawned on me.   

Whose face is imprinted on our American dollar bills? Ol’ George, father of our country. 

And this quote taken directly from his writing about the time he was at Fort Ligonier  explains why he possibly didn’t have good sense yet: “During the time the army lay at Loyalhanning a circumstance occurred which involved the life of G.W. in as much jeopardy as it had ever been before or since.”  ~ George Washington remembers Fort Ligonier in his autobiographical remarks.  (You can read about this incident by clicking here.)

On a trip down South a couple of years ago, we stopped in Louisville, Kentucky to do some sight-seeing.  This clever sign caught my attention on a street in that city.

blogDSCN7013

But you have to see the next photo to understand why the first one is so memorable.  Right next to the building advertising Kentucky Mirror and Plate Glass with that giant baseball shattering the ‘glass’ is the building which houses the Louisville Slugger Museum where this stands:

blogDSCN7011

Things like that crack me up which is why I’m always checking out signs to see if there’s anything clever and witty or photo worthy – just another sign of the times in my life.

©2013 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

6 responses

  1. I love the baseball sign and the irony in this post mama. I’m starting to look at signs in that new way too…. like what’s different or funny out there? We are on the same page once again since I’m calling my new category “Signs of the Times.” 🙂

    Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

