Tight squeeze

blogIMG_0505Take a couple of steps forward.  Stop.  You can’t go any further.  Back up then.  Retreat a bit.  Halt. You can’t go backwards either.

Ever since childhood, that kind of action has frustrated the heck out of me.  My mother once told me a story as evidence that patience may not have been my strong point, even as an infant.

According to my parents, I walked when I was nine months old.  Prior to making progress on my own two feet, I used a baby walker to get mobile.

Once while making my way in my walker around the eat-in area of my childhood home’s kitchen,  my baby self somehow got hung up by a kitchen chair leg.  Attempting to move forward got me nowhere.   And when I tried to reverse, I got even more tangled.

After a few tries, I still had no success.  So growling loudly in frustration,  baby me shook the heck out of that darn walker until my mother came to my rescue.

Hmmm.  Seems like not much has changed, except that my mother can’t rescue me any longer.  It’s true that sometimes, even as an adult, I still feel frustrated like I was in that long-ago  story.  And frustration rears its ugly head when I find myself stuck between a rock and a hard place.

I recently read a story about a young woman traveling alone via train in a foreign country. She started to feel a bit jittery because that area of the world was prone to violence.  She ventured to the restroom, but while she was in this smelly cramped space, the lights went out.  In absolute darkness, she grabbed the door handle and shoved the door as hard as she could in order to escape this panicked place in which she found herself. 

But the door wouldn’t open!  She felt trapped and feared someone was blocking it.  She pounded on that door, but no one came to her aid.  Turning to lean against the wall, she nearly fell out of her entrapment.  The ‘wall’ was really the door.  The ‘handle’ which she attempted to open the door with was really the empty towel rack on the wall.

In her frustration and panic over being plunged into darkness, she got turned around and confused.  She thought she was caught between a rock and a hard place, but her way to escape was just at another angle.

I can identify so well with this story.  I have often felt like I am trapped, literally between a rock and a hard place.  Frustration floods me when that happens.  I try to push myself out of this tight spot to no avail.  Pressure and stress soon follow frustration.  Sometimes even anger roars.

After dealing with this issue for quite some time,  I’ve finally come to a solution.  I’ve moaned, I’ve groaned. I’ve been depressed; I’ve been angry.  I’ve prayed and contemplated.  I’ve sought advice from my husband and family, and while they offer good suggestions, they can’t change circumstances for me.

I have to make the change myself and that takes time.  Time for patience and time for waiting.  And oh, yes…endurance. Waiting until the time is right. Waiting until my heart and mind are calm.  Waiting until I can think clearly, weigh options, and then choose to make wise decisions to loosen the constrictions of my tight spot.

I’ve come to realize that when you’re between a rock and a hard place, sometimes the way out is clamoring over the stumbling blocks of impenetrable rock, using the threatening circumstances as stepping stones.  Because sometimes the best way out is up and over.

“The only difference between stumbling blocks and stepping stones is the way you use them.”  ~ Anonymous

On this best day of the year, I’m looking up over the obstacles and I’m hopeful I’ll find freedom from my tight squeeze.

©2013 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

7 responses

  1. I can so relate to this. Nothing in my nature is patient or calm. I’m the queen of the what-if scenarios. I’ve been trying to become a better prepper and reading a lot of those sites gets me so wound up and in a panic over all that i can’t do, that i lose sight of all i can and have already done. No matter how much it is, at least its better thsn nothing. I also forget that, ultimately, its all in God’s hands. No matter how much i panic, worry, stress or even how much i do, the entire thing is in God’s control. How much more could i enjoy life, enjoy myself, and even accomplish if i spent less time freaking out over things i cannot change, and just wait for God to change them for me?

    Like

    • Oh, Cubbyholes, I’m right there with ya!! I’ve learned to be calm, but patience definitely isn’t my strong suit. I too am a what-if kind of gal — overachiever in that area! 😉 As I’ve [ahem] matured and grown older, I realize more and more that so much is out of my control but God ALWAYS has everything under His control. He teaches me patience each and every day, so obviously it’s a lesson I haven’t aced yet!

      Like

  2. This is a wonderful post. It makes me think of the times and places where I feel panicked or trapped and gives me the inspiration to stop in time to measure progress and think before succumbing to frustration.

    Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

