Home is where the heart is: Weekly Photo Challenge

blogSpring 2009 012Home.  That’s a subject near and dear to my heart.  I find I think and write about this subject often because home seems to always be on my heart.

I wrote a four-part series on home during the first year of my blog.  Writing that series proved emotional for me and at the same time cleansing.  I needed to put my emotions about home down in words so that I could process all that was transpiring at the time and move forward with life and its many changes. 

If you’re interested in that series, entitled “Home, Sweet Home,” you can click here  to read part one and then continue reading the other three installments  by clicking the next post at the bottom of the page.

Home is the subject of this week’s WordPress photo challenge. Gleaning through my photo files, I found several pictures which personify ‘home’ to me, so it was difficult to choose one or two. 

Should I post a photo of the home where I spent most of my growing up years?  That home is the one I have been anchored to for most of my life.  It is the house where my father was born and the one where he passed away.  But it belongs to a different family now, so I didn’t feel comfortable posting a photo of it on the internet.

Should I post photos of my current home?  Or one of the other homes across the country where we resided at one time or another?  Or a photo of something that means home to me?  Or a photo of my family because, truly, my family signifies home in my way of thinking?

British Prime Minister Winston Churchill once said, “There is no doubt that it is around the family and the home that all the greatest virtues, the most dominating virtues of human society, are created, strengthened and maintained.” 

I wholeheartedly agree with that statement.  That’s how important I think home and family are.

So it is settled.  I invite you to view my photographic interpretation of ‘home.’ 

The first photo at the beginning of this post is the front door of our home, hopefully a welcoming place.  The second picture, below,  is one I managed to capture when all three of our adult children came home for a holiday and saw each other for the first time in many, many months.

blog pic1

The love and warmth of being together again as a family.  Yes, for us, that’s home, no matter where it is.

©2013 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

16 responses

  1. I wholeheartedly agree that home means family. What a precious picture of your kids – their joy is apparent to all. You and your husband have done a great job raising 3 amazing and loving adults. Three more “homes” that have become a part of your lives:))))

    Like

  2. I love you, mamma’s empty nest! What a sweet spirit (and kindred too) you are. I too have had that longing in my heart for “home”. I could write my own blog about my travels as well (husband was in military when we started out). I have come to a peaceful heart through the years, through lots of talking to The Lord and learning to enjoy the journey (and scenery) as I travel down the path of my life. However, as a brand new empty nester, that “feeling” of longing has return a bit as I stumble around for new footing in an empty house. I’m sure that peace will return as I come to terms with this new season of life and realize that “home”, as in family, might look a little different….all though, I can relate to your “lesson” on home as a longing God places in us as believers for our everlasting home with Him. I believe that is true, that feeling of longing…..it’s a gift and a comfort I think, in the midst of all the sin of this world.
    Thank you, mamma….for sharing your heart and your walk with The Lord….it is a help and a comfort to me.
    God bless.
    Alison

    Like

    • Alison, you can’t begin to know how encouraging your comment was to me today as I read it just now. It sounds like we have lived our lives in a somewhat parallel fashion and have many things in common. One of those, of course, is the empty nest. It’s a blessing to hear from other empty-nesters and know that you’re not walking that path alone, isn’t it? That’s why I blog. It would have helped me better understand this stage of life if I had chosen to reach out to others who were going through the same walk. Thank you for sharing your heart with me. It blesses me to know that my words are helpful and comforting for others. Isn’t that what we as sisters in Christ are called to do? Help and comfort. Encourage and bless. Thanks for sticking with me. If you feel like emailing sometime, please do. Be blessed, my fellow empty-nester!

      Like

      • BLESSINGS OF JOY FOR VALENTINES DAY!!!! For you and yours……and……wait for it………I’m going to be a grandma!! My Valentines present from my beautiful daughter and my awesome son in law……God is so good!

        Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

