The world according to Dove

blogIMG_0400I love chocolate just as much as the next chocoholic. 

That creamy, smooth, sweet concoction always seems to make everything taste better in my world. 

Except for yesterday.  I have a little stash of chocolate candy, which I’ve been rationing,  left over from Christmas.  Amidst the dark chocolate Hershey kisses, there are a few Dove milk chocolates and one or two Godiva truffles left.

I always read the little heartwarming saying on the inside of the Dove candy wrapper, but yesterday’s tidbit left me colder than a frozen Dove ice cream bar.

“Do what feels right. Love, Dove.”  That’s what the wrapper advised me.

Do what FEELS right?  Oh, boy.  Houston, we have a problem.

Now, I realize not many people actually run their lives according to Dove’s recommendations, (at least I hope not) but I have issues with that suggestion to do what feels right.

How about instead we do what IS right?  The way I see it, if I always succumb to the mantra of doing what feels right, I’ll most likely be wrong. 

The Bible calls not doing what is right a sin.  James 4:17 says, “So whoever knows the right thing to do and fails to do it, for him it is sin.”  (English Standard Version)

When it comes to doing what is right or wrong, we can’t rely on our feelings.  For example, if I did what I feel is right when someone steps ahead of me in the checkout line, completing ignoring the fact that I was there first, I’d tell that person off in angry language and make a big, loud scene. 

But is that really what is right to do?  No.  The right response would be to say politely, “Excuse me, I was here first, but if you’re in that big of a hurry, why don’t you go ahead.”

If I did what I feel is right, I’d turn off my alarm clock and go back to sleep some mornings because I feel like being lazy, instead of crawling out of bed and getting ready for work. 

But is that right?  No, there are people who depend on me to do my job and do it well and that’s how I earn my wages.

What do I feel is right when my husband makes me angry?  I feel like he’s the one in the wrong and he should apologize because I deserve the apology. 

But is that the right thing to do especially when my anger is fueled by my own stress, being overly tired, or just plain crankiness and all of that makes me a little more explosive today?  Perhaps the right thing to do is apologize to him for blowing up over nothing.

What about when the car behind me tailgates me?  If I did what I feel is right, I’d slam on my brakes to teach that person a lesson and make him hit me from behind.  But that’s not the right thing to do.  That would only make a bad situation much, much worse.

I like the advice Mark Twain gave when he said, “Always do right – this will gratify some and astonish the rest.”

If I live my life doing what I feel is right, the world would revolve around me, my desires, and my rules.  There it is again, that self-centeredness.  And that’s what our world tells us.  Do what you feel.  Do what you want.  Do what serves you.

I don’t want any part of that world, do you hear me, Dove chocolates?  I can be selfish enough without you goading me on!

I’m writing on my heart that today is the best day of the year because I realize, thanks to Dove chocolate’s worldly view of doing the right thing, that I want to astonish people by doing what I know IS right.

“The truth of the matter is that you always know the right thing to do. The hard part is doing it.”  ~ General H. Norman Schwarzkopf

©2013 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

8 responses

  1. I have to say, I’ll take Dove’s over Hershey’s any day (sorry, that doesn’t help you much) but my thing isn’t chocolate so much as the salty crunchy things 😦 Good watchful words and I LOVE the cute little snowman dish you have. That’s definitely MY style!

    Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

