These boots (or shoes) were made for walking

blogIMG_0314It’s odd to be thinking about new shoes when lately all I have been wearing are boots.

Wearing shoes outside this last week or so would just result in wet feet since my home is still encased in a snow globe world.

So shoes, old or new, haven’t really been on my mind.  Until today, when I realized I needed to write about new shoes.

Over the weekend, I yanked a pair of boots on yet again when hubby and I ventured out shopping.   I actually looked at a pair of shoes on the sale rack, but then dismissed the idea of buying them because: a.  I really didn’t need them;  b.  boots adorn my feet when I’m going anywhere this time of year since it’s snowy, icy, or just plain cold outside;  and c.  they weren’t that cute.

I didn’t think about shoes again until yesterday. Cue the new shoes reference.

During worship at our little country church, a choir member sang a solo entitled New Shoes.  As I listened to the song lyrics, “So I’ve made my reservation for my final destination, I’m changing my location to my mansion in the sky; gonna wear me some new clothes, bright shiny white robes, walk ’round in new shoes getting ready to move,” an idea popped into my head.

I found myself thinking about new shoes and wondering if really we would even need shoes in heaven.  I mean, who knows?  There are references to some form of white garments in the Bible, but I can’t find anything scriptural about having shoes in heaven, new or otherwise.

Now I am aware that for some people getting new shoes is heaven, and that some shoe stores named Shoe Heaven actually exist.  So there’s something heavenly about new shoes that attracts us humans.  I admit it floats my boat to buy new shoes, my mother also loved shoes, and my daughters are a bit shoe-crazy themselves.

Cue the next new shoes reference.

I decided to do some online research about shoes in heaven because, you know, Google is the final authority about everything (please know I’m being sarcastic, and if you’re seeking any Bible references,  use a reputable source not just someone’s goofy answer on Google).  But first I logged into Facebook to see what was happening in my friends’ worlds.

Apparently, buying new shoes.  Yep, a Facebook friend posted this status:  “Somehow new shoes always make me feel better ;)”

New shoes.  Again.  And that reminded me of another song about new shoes [click to hear it], which for some crazy reason, cheers me up every time I hear it and not just because it happens to be the cell ringtone when oldest daughter calls me.

So I started singing, “Hey, I put some new shoes on and suddenly everything is right I said, hey, I put some new shoes on and everybody’s smiling, it’s so inviting.”

Hey, some new shoes…and that all brought me back to my initial question.   Will we wear new shoes or any shoes in heaven?

I don’t know.  But I do know that while we’re still here on earth, the Lord has given us much instruction on how we are to walk, regardless of our shoes.

Scripture tells us to walk faithfully, walk in obedience, walk in wisdom, walk blameless, walk in the light, walk humbly, walk by the Spirit, walk in the way of love, and walk in truth.

That’s a lot of walking!  So maybe we do need new shoes after all.  And maybe that’s why new shoes make us feel good and downright happy.

An old German proverb advises us, “Don’t throw away your old shoes before you have new shoes.”   That’s pretty decent advice unless you want to be bare-footed, but I do believe it’s wise to ‘throw away’ your old shoes if they’re taking you to places you shouldn’t go.

Even Dr. Seuss gave us some thoughts about where our feet should take us when he wrote, “You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself in any direction you choose. You’re on your own.  And you know what you know. You are the guy who’ll decide where to go.”

blogIMG_0352It’s true.  We decide where our feet, clad in old or new shoes, will take us.  We choose our direction, our paths.  God has given us the freedom to choose, to use our free will.

For me, whether my feet are shod in boots or shoes, new or old, or I’m just barefooted, I want to walk the way Jesus shows me.

And to do that, I need to be reading His words, binding His truth to my mind and heart.

“When you walk, they will guide you; when you sleep, they will watch over you; when you awake, they will speak to you.” ~ Proverbs 6:22

On this best day of the year, where are your shoes taking you? Do you need new shoes?

©2013 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

7 responses

      • Well – I was remembering a story I once heard, a dream a friend had. She dreamt that she was in heaven to be outfitted for prayer, and she was in the shoe department. She couldn’t wait to see what the angels were going to give her, she was sure it would be the biggest stoutest firmest workboots for kicking that devil’s butt. But instead she was handed the merest of gossomer ballet slippers. She was told that when going into prayer, you must be very very careful on what and how you tread upon other people’s lives. For some reason that image has always stuck with me.
        Then you could always burst into song, “oh them golden slippers”. . .lol.

        Like

  1. Very nice post! Imagine thinking about shoes and being blessed with songs about shoes and all of those spiritual insights! Walking is great exercise with the right shoes and if we don’t end up with sore feet! I just remembered an oldie, “Trust and Obey” which starts off, “When we walk with the Lord. . .” bet you know it! God bless you! ~Liz

    Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

