What if we celebrate Christmas differently this year?

blogDSCN8270The Christmas season draws nigh.  Having just spent some time celebrating Thanksgiving in an entirely different way than usual, I’ve been reflecting on how to spend Christmas this year.

The following video I discovered accidentally (or maybe on God’s purpose) speaks to me today.  My wish is that it may give you pause for reflection on how you spend your Christmas season as well.

Please remember to be in prayer for all those who may not have abundance or even enough this Christmas season and give what you can to the bell ringers of the Salvation Army, to the Red Cross, to World Vision, to whatever organization you know that truly helps those in need.

You will be blessed.

“No one is useless in this world who lightens the burdens of another.” ~ Charles Dickens

©2012 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

8 responses

  1. I think everyone is seeing the need to celebrate more simply. My problem with helping those in need is: I want to be sure the money I give goes to help someone who is REALLY, TRULY in need. I so see much abuse of all the “help” that’s available these days. I’m just so skeptical…..
    Loving the idea to spend more time with family and less time in lines to buy stuff.

    Like

    • I know what you mean, Dianna. And I’m skeptical of too of some of those “help” places as well. That’s why we try to do as much research as we can before we give. We wholeheartedly endorse organizations like World Vision and Samaritan’s Purse.

      Like

    • Awesome, Reeling! Such a great thing to do. We do something similar every year too for a couple of local charities and for Samaritan’s Purse and it’s really fun as well. When else do I get to purchase toys and clothing for little ones? 😉

      Like

  2. Our prayers have been answered so many-fold. Perhaps I will blog about it. Stay tuned. For me it’s not about Christmas giving…it’s about micro-economics/micro-lending. Check out kiva.org I love that it works. Muhammad Yunus attests to it. I do not question their effectiveness at all times of the year. I love that your presence is here on the blogosphere. Keep doing what you’re doing, mama.

    Like

  3. Nice! And thanks for including the Salvation Army. I’m reading where many places are struggling this year to get volunteers. Not just for that, but your whole post is about the real thing that matters. It’s a great message. What if we did what He did and give? Again, very nice. You’ve got me in the Christmas spirit!

    Like

    • Just something that’s been on my heart a lot lately, so I thought I’d share it. God does that; He plants seeds of ideas in my thoughts and I feel so strongly that they must be shared. I’m glad this post got you in the Christmas spirit! 🙂

      Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

