Wordless Wednesday: Sunrise, sunset

Is this the little girl I carried?
Is this the little boy at play?
I don’t remember growing older
When did they?
When did she get to be a beauty?
When did he grow to be so tall?
Wasn’t it yesterday when they were small?

Sunrise, sunset.  Sunrise, sunset.
Swiftly flow the days
Seedlings turn overnight to sunflowers
Blossoming even as we gaze.
Sunrise, sunset. Sunrise, sunset.
Swiftly fly the years
One season following another
Laden with happiness and tears.

Now is the little boy a bride groom?
Now is the little girl a bride?
Under the canopy I see them
Side by side.
Bless the gold ring around her finger
Share the sweet wine and break the glass
Soon the whole circle will have come to pass.

Sunrise, sunset.  Sunrise, sunset
Swiftly flow the days
Seedlings turn overnight to sunflowers
Blossoming even as we gaze.
Sunrise, sunset. Sunrise, sunset.
Swiftly fly the years
One season following another
Laden with happiness and tears…

What words of wisdom can I give them?
How can I help to ease their way?
Now they must learn from one another
Day by day.
They look so natural together
Just like two newlyweds should be
Is there a canopy in store for me?

Sunrise, sunset.  Sunrise, sunset.
Swiftly flow the days
Seedlings turn overnight to sunflowers
Blossoming even as we gaze.
Sunrise, sunset, Sunrise, sunset
Swiftly fly the years
One season following another
Laden with happiness and tears.

(“Sunrise, Sunset” lyrics from Fiddler on the Roof)

I broke the rules of Wordless Wednesday today by adding words to this photograph.  The words have special meaning for me.  Thirty-five years ago, this song was sung at Mama & Papa’s wedding.  This weekend, our oldest daughter will wed her true love – the last of the three weddings in our “Year of the Weddings.”

It’s been a wild week here as we begin the countdown to the nuptials.  Hurricane Sandy brought us a deluge of non-stop rain for several days and now we have snow flurries. But we’re grateful to be in a pocket of protection; we’ve had no high winds, no flooding, no power outage. 

Our newlywed son and daughter-in-law who live in the state most ravaged by the storm are safe and sound.  Our other newlyweds –  middle daughter and son-in-law – are also safe and sound in the state that had blizzard conditions.  Our bride is in the nest with us and the groom safely arrived here from his state last evening.

As we pray for all those affected by this ravaging storm, we also pause to give thanks to God above for that protection over our own family.   We’re hoping and praying all of the bridal party and our guests from places near and far will have safe travels to the wedding.

This morning as I prepare for the upcoming celebration and consider all the thoughts and emotions surging over me, this song came to mind.  It’s fitting for the way I feel…one season following another, laden with happiness and tears.

©2012 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

22 responses

  1. Happy wedding! Thank you for bringing back these words to a beautiful song. I still remember Mike Douglas–remember him?–singing it. I was always taken by the fact that he sang it with such heart, being the father of the girls he adored. You have a wonderful journal account here as you record the anticipation of your eldest’s wedding.

    Like

  2. The words to this song hold a special meaning for countless individuals. As a musician, I cannot tell you how many times I’ve performed that song at wedding receptions. The essence of the lyrics ring so true. Congratulations to you and yours!

    Like

    • Aren’t the words just so tender? And the music, so beautiful! I wonder how often this lovely song is still played at weddings now though. Thank you, Kevin, for visiting Mama’s Empty Nest today and for your kind words and congrats. 🙂

      Like

  3. That’s a beautiful photo and song, and this is a happy post – everyone is well after Hurricane Sandy, and you’ve got a wonderful celebration to look forward to this weekend. I’m so glad Sandy didn’t interfere with your daughter’s wedding plans. Enjoy! Then rest after quite a week! Wishing you and yours all the best, Mama.

    Like

    • Oh AA, I’m going to need a long rest, I fear! It’s been a wedding whirlwind the last year with all of my kids’ marriages and I must confess, I AM EXHAUSTED! Whoops….did I just yell that?? Thank you for all the well wishes! 🙂

      Like

    • I hadn’t even planned on posting this week because well, we’ve just been so busy and stressed. But this morning I got up early and thought I could post a photo like I usually do on Weds. I took this one on the way home one evening last week before the storm, and it seemed perfect for today. And then all the words came rushing out onto my computer screen. Thank you, dear family friend, for all your prayers and your encouragement!

      Like

  4. Praying for the wedding to be perfect in every way. May there be safe travels for every single guest who had planned to attend. Bless you and your hubby as your hearts overflow this weekend …. and of course, many blessings on the bride and groom too :))) Looking forward to all the pictures !!!

    Like

    • Reeling, R & R is exactly what I’m trying to do this week — well, in between catching up at work. I’ve had 4 – count ’em! – 4 good nights worth of sleep in a row! That’s the best rest I’ve had in months!!! 😉

      Like

    • Dear friend, thank you for the prayers and well wishes. Everyone arrived safely despite snow for some and gasoline shortages for others. We did a lot of rejoicing. I’m hoping to get some photos posted next week, but the wedding was wonderful and beautiful and a true blessing for all of us!

      Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

